Chapters logo

The Forgotten Daughter

Chapter 1:

By Nomfundo GumedePublished 2 months ago 4 min read
1
The Forgotten Daughter
Photo by Linda Kazares on Unsplash

From the moment I opened my eyes in this world, I knew I was different. The other wolves in the pack towered over me, their sleek coats gleaming in the sunlight, while I, a mere shadow in their midst, struggled to make my presence known. My name is Seraphina, but here, in the Silvermist Pack, I am little more than a servant, overlooked and underestimated by all who pass me by. My days are filled with menial tasks and endless toil, my body weary from the burden of carrying out the orders of those who see me as nothing more than a pawn in their games.

Seraphina moved through her daily routine with the quiet determination; that of any person who is accustomed to being overlooked. She was slender, her fur matted and unkempt from lack of care, but there was a quiet strength in her eyes that belied her fragile appearance. She was abrubtly disturbed from her thoughts by a hard shove that sent her stagerring, colliding with the edge of one of the tables she was cleaning up. One of the young wolves gave her a nasty stare then proceeded to reprimand her, "You should really watch where you place yourself you twit, you already take up too much space with your unwanted presence!" The she-wolves that were with him snickered as they all walked away leaving the dining area, and as if it could not get any worse - I caught the glimpse of the alpha and her mate watching it all unfold. Although, everybody always questioned if she truly was his mate since he treats her like she's dispensable. That is not typical of mates; they are inseparable, almost as though they had been cut from the same exact cloth, feeling every emotion, every experience, and sharing energy in every moment as if they were one. Not to mention, he still hasn't marked her as his Luna - strange.

She walks up to me and gives me a quick glance up and down, then her eyes meet mine. "I told you nobody wants you here ragdoll, look at you now falling and stumbling all over the place. You're gonna break all our furniture then who has to pay for it huh? My man already has enough to deal with as the alpha of this kingdom - we don't need you causing more problems for him." She folds her arms as she waits for my response...but I didn't have one. I don't want to fight with her today, I have enough to deal with as it is and I'd really rather not cause a scene in front of the alpha. "Hey" he snaps, "let's go, before my parents catch me here at this time. I should have already gathered the team for hunting practice that starts in the next 20min. I don't need them breathing down my neck anymore than they already are." He turns to walk away, slightly irritated, leaving her to follow behind him. She turns and gives me a death stare, "you see now you got my poo-bear mad at me. I'll make you pay ragdoll!" she snarls before she turns and paces behind him, trying to keep up.

I wait for them to leave before I take a big sigh of relief that it did not escalate past a verbal confrontation. That would have been more than I can handle today. I may be used to being treated like a nobody, but what they do not know is that I am more than meets the eye. I am already planning my escape, and although I may not be very book-smart since I was not allowed to attend school with the other wolves, I have learnt to just adapt and be resilient, no matter what happens. The things that have happened in my life up until now have broken me, but they have also taught me how to survive. I have no real sense of my identity. I told that I was found abandoned in the forest as a baby, and taken in by the alpha and the luna of Silvermist. In return - I would be indebted to them for life, for saving mine. I was given a name since nobody knew who I was. I've always wondered about what life could have looked like if I was loved, and chosen by my parents. Instead, they abandoned me, unwanted by my own blood, and now unwanted by the people, who remind me every chance they get, that they saved me. I cannot help but feel the pull of destiny tugging at my soul, urging me to find a better life for myself. I feel like I am boxed in, but that won't last forever. I am sure it - I will make sure of it, my plan has to work. It has to.

Plot TwistYoung AdultNonfictionFantasyCliffhanger
1

About the Creator

Nomfundo Gumede

I enjoy writing; engaging through story-telling.

I have found my stress-reliever and ended up falling back in love with a part I had forgotten about myself - Expression.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.