Chapters logo

The Devil's Game

A child's broken soul

By Author Billiejo PriestleyPublished 8 months ago 3 min read
Like

The usual routine, as soon as my foot crosses the threshold, I run to the safe haven of my bedroom. My mind tries to block out every sound from them. The violent laughter and shouts roam the house so freely. As I hide away I pretend they don't exist, my mind makes up a fake reality one that is easier to live with. Too afraid to accept the truth I hide in a dream world and wait for the silence to ring through.

Then I hear it, loud and terrifying. The boom of sound, like the devil's laugh, makes me shudder from my core. My knees are drawn up, arms wrap around my legs, in a tight embrace. My mind tells me it's just another day, wishing to be anywhere, but in this place.

My eyes scan the room and now notice an empty space. My heart shatters and crumbles as fear boils within me, and I coax my body to shift from this safe haven I crave.

The laughter becomes louder and continues to grow. With each slow movement and foot pressing against the creaky stairs, I wonder if the devil will hear, and show me his sneer. His menacing laughter turns my body to stone, as I fight to fill that empty space that lies within my room.

Slowly creeping, I step towards the door. Unsure of what lurks in the shadows of the room. Fear cripples me, as my eyes finally find him. His eyes are menacing and full of humour as he plays the devil's game. Standing wide-eyed and tongue-tied I watch as he makes his move. My soul gives up and flies free from the room.

My mouth opens to scream, but only silence arises, as I watch the predator in his release. His mocking laugh ridicules, eyes wide watching as he places it on the floor. Blood begins to drain, as I feel my face paling as he stamps down with a roar. The sound of what I can only describe as celery breakign rings in my ears.

As the devil's foot raises, my hand shields my mouth, disgust rising within. As I go to snatch the cage, he is too quick for me. His hand grips another, dangling it in front of me. The squealing sound from the hamster shatters my child soul as I feel powerless under the devil's glare

My hands grasp the cage, as I break out of my freight. I watch as he swings it, laughing in my face, before he turns and throws it against the wall with a satisfying glee look on his face. Once again the sound is gut-turning as I see blood smeared on the wall, after his latest game.

My legs rush me away, to seek refuge in my asylum. The images within my mind feel like they are seeping through the cracks. As the walls I had taken shield behind no longer stand. They crack and crumble and fall to pieces on the ground.

His laughter is still loud like the devil's right there. Whispering torment within my ear, as I try to close my mind off and ignore his vocals. I saw the devil in his eyes and wondered how he could do it. How could he let the devil in and play his games?

He didn't seem to flinch or show a small bit of guilt. He saw it as a game, a party trick to dazzle his watchers. He didn't apologise, or seem phased by my tears, as I ran away cradling the cage wishing I was never here.

Locking myself within the safe haven, with regret for leaving the cage within the devils grasp.

Autobiography
Like

About the Creator

Author Billiejo Priestley

Indie author of hot fiction, and taboo subjects. You can find my on all social medias and my books on Amazon.

www.linktr.ee/authorbilliejopriestley

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.