Chapters logo

The Dark House'

"A Warning to Leave"

By Isra SaleemPublished 25 days ago 3 min read
Like

As I stepped out of the car and onto the crumbling driveway, a shiver ran down my spine. The old Victorian house loomed before me, its turrets and gargoyles reaching towards the moon like skeletal fingers. I had always been drawn to the supernatural and the unknown, and this house was rumored to be one of the most haunted places in the country.

I approached the entrance, a heavy wooden door with iron hinges and a large iron knocker in the shape of a lion's head. The door creaked as I pushed it open, and I stepped inside, my heart racing with anticipation.

The interior was musty and dark, the air thick with the scent of decay. Cobwebs clung to the chandeliers, and the walls were covered in a thick layer of dust. I wandered through the empty rooms, my footsteps echoing off the walls.

As I explored, I began to feel a presence around me. At first, I thought it was just my imagination, but soon I realized that I was not alone. Doors creaked open and shut of their own accord, and I heard whispers in the darkness.

I tried to tell myself it was just the wind, but deep down, I knew it was something more. The house seemed to be alive, and it was watching me.

I stumbled upon a room that seemed untouched by time. The furniture was old but well-preserved, and the walls were adorned with family portraits. In the center of the room, a large mirror hung above the fireplace.

As I approached the mirror, I noticed something strange. The reflection staring back at me was not my own, but that of a young girl with piercing green eyes. I spun around, but there was no one there.

Suddenly, the mirror exploded, shards of glass flying everywhere. I ducked for cover, my heart racing. When I looked up, the girl was standing in front of me, her eyes blazing with a malevolent fury.

"Get out while you still can," she hissed, her voice like a rusty gate.

I tried to run, but my feet felt heavy, as if rooted to the spot. The girl began to laugh, a cold, mirthless sound that sent chills down my spine.

And then, everything went black.

When I came to, I was lying on the floor, my head throbbing. The girl was nowhere to be seen, but I knew I had to get out of there. I stumbled to my feet and made my way back to the entrance.

As I emerged into the bright sunlight, I felt a sense of relief wash over me. I knew I would never set foot in that house again.

But as I turned to look back, I saw the girl standing in the window, her eyes fixed on me with a cold, dead stare. I knew then that I would never be able to escape the darkness of that house.

I drove away as fast as I could, not stopping until I was back in the safety of my own home. But even now, I can feel the girl's eyes on me, watching me, waiting for me to return to the dark house. And sometimes, in the dead of night, I can still hear her laughter, echoing in my mind, reminding me that some houses are better left unvisited.

As time went by, I couldn't shake off the feeling that the girl was still watching me. I started to notice strange things happening around me - doors would slam shut on their own, and I would catch glimpses of a figure in the corner of my eye.

One night, I woke up to find the girl standing in my bedroom, her eyes blazing with an otherworldly fury. I tried to scream, but my voice was frozen in my throat. She reached out a hand and touched my face, and I felt a chill run down my spine. And then, everything went black. When I came to, I was alone in my bed, but I knew that I would never be free from the grasp of the dark house and the malevolent spirit that dwelled within its walls.

FantasyFiction
Like

About the Creator

Isra Saleem

Versatile writer skilled in both tale & stories. Captivate readers with engaging content & immersive narratives. Passionate about informing, inspiring, & entertaining through words.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.