Chapters logo

The Cheshire House Nine

Having a friend made the ghost a little less terrifying. But she still didn't know what to do. There was no way she could flee the house. Not without telling her Mother.

By Raphael FontenellePublished 5 months ago 5 min read
1
The Cheshire House Nine
Photo by Clay Banks on Unsplash

Hello Journal,

Last night was just a little hectic. Raven and I obviously didn't get enough sleep or any at all. The noises started up around two in the morning. It only stopped half an hour ago. And it was just so abruptly done that I was scared. We both grabbed something to attack whatever it was in the room. Just too tired to understand that whatever it was would probably be dead. A possible ghost or something like that and weapons wouldn't work on it. I unlocked the room as Raven ran straight into it with her weapon out front. I followed after her as quickly as I possibly could and we found the little room is messed up. There wasn't anything broken on the floor at least.

The three books were on the floor and they were open. Trevor's journal was sitting there open to his middle page. Raven was reading the whole thing and grilling me about it. About if I had found the pills in the room.

Of course I hadn't found the pills yet.

Mostly because I needed to flee the bedroom. That I felt like the huge urge to get out of the room that is. And Raven spent time with me to find the pills. Because it might be what the banging thing was looking for. Trevor's hidden pills. So far, we haven't found much. The walls don't seem to have a hidden compartment in them. I was tapping on the walls as I went along. But it was Raven who found the thing. She pulled them out from behind a little decoration that I had missed completely.

Trevor had put them in a little bottle. It was half full of little green tablets that were round. Almost the same size of ibuprofen. We're going to take this to a pharmacy after work. Right now we're getting ready to go to work. It's going to help me feel more normal. Help both of us feel more normal and just try to ignore the weirdness. Maybe we'll find something about the pills from the pharmacy. Like who made them and Trevor's last name. Especially finding out why Trevor was vomiting each time he took them.

Talk to you later.

__________________________

Nine PM, after closing:

So we took the pills to the pharmacy, to a family friend of Raven's, and the woman didn't recognize them. But she asked if she could keep the pills and asked for our numbers. We agreed to this and we jotted down our numbers on a post it note. Before we left the pharmacy, Raven showed her the journal and asked if she could read the last name or not. I hadn't known she was going to do this but I was glad she did. Doctor's generally have bad handwriting skills. So she could possibly read the words that Trevor had written. The woman read it and she told us the young man's name was Trevor Englehart. She told us that this kid's Dad's name must have been Ambrose Englehart.

A man who was a wonderful doctor but mysteriously disappeared after his wife and sons died.

I wondered if this was completely true and the woman was asking if we could leave that there too. I, of course, refuse to let her keep it. After all, we did tell her the symptoms were of the medication. So she obviously didn't need the book, in my opinion at least. Which she seemed to find a little annoying and she told us to come back tomorrow. Then we went back to my Grandparents house. I started dinner for us. We're having nachos for dinner.

Raven's also getting ready. Her roommate had dropped off her favorite clothes. And her bathroom stuff as well. I feel bad that I'm taking her away from her home but she assured me it was just fine. After all,she had always wanted to deal with ghosts. Even if they come with the strangest type of case. Missing people and that kind of thing. Maybe even a freaky type of murder caused by Ambrose.

How he did it wasn't clear enough for either of us. Raven thought that Trevor could've possibly been overpowered by his Father. Since he was taking quite a bit of whatever kind of poison his medicine was. The young man could've been too weak to properly fight his own Father off and he was murdered. It sounds plausible to me. Though I'm not too sure if that's what happened to the young man. What if his Father had shoved him to his death? The stairs were definitely high enough for him to have been thrown down. And Raven agrees that it could be entirely possible. Of course we're not entirely sure that it would be the real reason. Nor do we agree that it is these are the real reasons. It's entirely possible.

But I doubt we're ever going to find out about how. Trevor's journal stopped thirty pages in and it gave nothing about what happened. Like he died before his journal was put in the tiny room. By either himself or by his Dad is unclear...what I do know is, Trevor was trying to warn me in my dreams. It's just gotta be what was going on. I mean it makes complete sense. Only a ghost would've done something like this, right?

Right.

And I know for a fact that ghosts would do anything for justice. But why would his warnings be delayed for so long? It just seems strange. I mean I'm the only one who noticed this ghost was around? I...it's like a horror movie plot hole. One that I'll figure out sooner or later. It might not be so stupid. It might be just that I was the only one that was tormented. That Trevor reached out to for some strange reason.

It could be that I'm a medium, which I am unsure of, it sounds weird. And I'm seeing Trevor because of this fact. He was reaching out to me for this very reason. I just wish that I could help him move on to the afterlife. Help him find peace. It was so long ago, Ambrose has been dead for years. Probably from something that wasn't enough. Ugh, anyway. I think I hear Raven getting out of the shower. It's time to eat our food.

Laters,

Morticia.

Horror
1

About the Creator

Raphael Fontenelle

Horror movie fan trying to write decent horror.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran5 months ago

    Oh wow so it was Trevor that kept appearing in Morticia's dream! Heading to part 10 now!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.