Chapters logo

Outstanding Black Creators on Vocal. D. Alexandra Porter's snapshot of 'BeggleDert'. The music and much awaited book by our talented creator. (Chap 2)

Show support by subscribing to her video on YouTube.

By Novel AllenPublished 16 days ago 3 min read
13
Video and music by D. Alexandra Porter (YouTube)

What can I say about the fabulous Alexandra. She blew into my consciousness like a warm and endearing burst of August sunshine. Her quiet smile belied her enthusiasm and kindness, sprinkling beautiful words of encouragement and causing ugly sniffling hollering when I read her comments.

D. Alexandra Porter (Force of Nature)

She was delighted by my desire to highlight talented AAT (African American Talent) on Vocal.

"This is epic, Lady Novel!!! Congratulations on taking this new journey!!! She offered.

"Hey D. How are you, how is that daunting project of yours coming along. Thanks for supporting my idea, it may not get much recognition here, but I am having fun searching for greatness within the diaspora of Blackness. And thinking outside this V box as well. Blessed be". I replied.

Speaking about her formidable but exciting new novel (not me) in progress, she offered a bit of insight into its creation:

"BeggleDert with its dragons and time travel is daunting indeed, but I am letting new characters talk to me and weave new stories with the old. My page goal is 280 or more. I hope to wrap up by Thanksgiving. Yeah, I know. That's a long time away, but I am still excited. How are you"? ✍️

Here is her original story which is published here on Vocal. From this she is building a whole new world of mystery, fantasy and exciting characters. Did she hint that one of her Caribbean characters could be based on yours truly, well not me per se, but Caribbean in essence. I think...it is a mystery for me to solve.

"This eve’s clouded twilight is the backdrop for something wicked slouching toward my Beggledert. On the north horizon, deadly white fingernails of lightning are raking towering black clouds, so tall that I imagine their peaks disappearing from sight on earth and reappearing in heaven. Every few minutes, the clouds halt and hover over terrain. Haunting the clouds is an omen of woeful weeping".

Some characters in BeggleDert

Alexandra says.....

"My thoughts flow from mind to quill, quill to parchment:

Twilight, in my village of BeggleDert, is renowned for the beauty of huge twinkling stars in a dark caerulean corridor between day and night–and it is imbued with magic. Sorcery lights candles to welcome the intimacy of dusk or extinguishes flames in the ritual of greeting dawn. It is not unusual to hear echoes in the wind of neighbors debating the best spell to cure your pet dragon’s cold, or affirming which flip of the wrist nuance conjures up the tastiest Beggledert Stew.

I love the bon sprit of Beggledert villagers, the richly diverse descendants of post-war settlers who founded the village five hundred years ago. The founders united to live in peace. Now, like a mural layered with colors, distinct and blended, we are the many within the one.

Throughout the day and night in Beggledert, horse-drawn carriages and carts preserve a sense of quaintness, though omnipresent libraries exhibit exquisite drawings of vintage, horseless wheel and axle transports rumored to rival sorcery".

Alexandra wields the pen like a princely sword, her words transporting you to worlds within the most sensual of fantasies.

~~~~~~~~~~~~

Beneath the bright full moon

And dark canopies of trees above on the cliff

I see silhouettes of lovers

Two as one

Clinging to each other

And I remember

~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Although she joined Vocal in 2021, Alexandra has only written 26 stories. She says she was a bit disheartened by the vibes and took a long sabbatical away. On tentatively returning, she bumped into a couple of us kindred souls and found her joy again. However, after a short and sweet run of writing her awesome series of stories here, she is taking time to work on her eagerly awaited book.

Best of luck Alexa, I am rooting for you. Call upon me whenever you need a supportive boost or push. You have been a real force of nature for me.

Thank you.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

The beautiful music on the cover page video is composed and sung by the talented Alexandra herself.

.....................................................................................

A BLACK DAHLIA PRODUCTION.

Black Dahlia by NightCafe Studios

...................................................................

Thank you for reading.

EssayRevealAdventure
13

About the Creator

Novel Allen

Every new day is a blank slate. Write something new.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Add your insights

Comments (11)

Sign in to comment
  • Lamar Wiggins12 days ago

    Thank you for honoring Alexandra! Her work is sublime. Beggledert is such a powerful story and deserves to move beyond Vocal. I wish her the best of luck always. 💖

  • Novel, I am SOOOO happy you highlighted D. Alexandra! She is AWESOME and her story is so worthy of publication. And you are a generous soul to uplift great writers on Vocal!!!

  • Shirley Belk15 days ago

    Nice to meet her and I wish her the best!

  • Alexandraaaaaaa!!! You know how much I love that story of yours! I'm so happy to know you're writing a book on it. I wish you all the best! 🥰🥰🥰 Oh and I've subscribed to your YouTube channel!

  • 💙 Wow!!! Lady Novel, I took a lunch break from a hectic schedule, dropped by Vocal, and landed on your masterpiece of writing. ✍️ I am astounded by your talent and humbled by your spotlight on my work. As you know, I am one of YOUR biggest fans! To be respected by you is, to me, equal to winning a literary award. THANK YOU!!! 💙✍️💙 To You and all Vocal creators: What a wonderful society of imaginative people we have here! I am honored to be among you and watch you hit new heights. Much Love To All! 💙✍️💙

  • Wow, a nice gratitude

  • Rachel Deeming16 days ago

    Good on you, Novel for highlighting Alexandra's work. I wish her every success with it.

  • Tiffany Gordon 16 days ago

    What a lovely tribute! D is such a kind soul & great talent!

  • Heather Hubler16 days ago

    I enjoyed this so much, Novel!! Wonderful glimpse into Alexandra's talented world :)

  • Judey Kalchik 16 days ago

    This is a wonderful spotlight shone on another talented writer!

  • Kodah16 days ago

    Alexandra's pieces are magical! So is your incredible tribute to her! Love it! 💌

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.