Chapters logo

Content warning

This story may contain sensitive material or discuss topics that some readers may find distressing. Reader discretion is advised. The views and opinions expressed in this story are those of the author and do not necessarily reflect the official policy or position of Vocal.

Man and Wife: A new Dawn

Chapter 5

By Arazella SnowPublished 8 days ago 2 min read

~ ISABELLA ~

The door to my bodouir bust open, and in strutted a dark figure.

His eyes came settling on my form, that gaze of his portraying some news I wasn't ready to spare a listen to.

His steps began heavy, such dark air looming around him as he found his way over, and with hands reaching to take off the fedora hat worn on his head, he hurried to my windowside.

"Spill it" The sound of my voice sought his attention for a moment, just before he returned his interest to whatever laid out there on the streets which he had now fixed his scrutiny on.

That irking silence of his.

Damn the bastard!

Such silence only came when he looked for the right moment to emit whatever ill news he brought about.

I watched Bastiano snatched a cigar off a metal case, and soon lighting its end up, he turned his attention fully on me.

"I have a mission for you"

...And cluck went the duck. I had studied the Tosser just well enough to know when he sought something of me, and not even sparing a moment to decipher the news, he had snatched something out of his pockets.

It was a picture.

The man in the photo appeared familiar. It was one of those faces which had come by at 'the shack' and given a welcome into the private lounge.

The fella had a double chin which did a lot in swallowing up his neck, and a head that was just too little for his massive size.

"There's a car outside waiting for you..." Bastiano began, pulling out a pistol, and slowly advancing me. "Edoardo Moretti has specifically requested to spend a night with you, Donna Chiara"

"You know that is not as far as I go" I cut in at once, eyes laden in his pensive ones.

"And I do not forget that, Chiara. Trust me" Came his words, with hands soon settling the weapon into my palms.

"We're not gonna go against that" Bastiano uttered. "We won't give him the time to have his way"

"I need you to kill him" And there came the bomb.

I paused my scrutiny on that profile, watching him closely.

"And is there a reason you want to kill a man who's one of the most loyal customers of 'the shack'"

"I thought we made it clear on no questions to be asked" Followed the response, with Bastiano, crumpling up the picture in his hands.

"Let it be known that this be the last time I'll serve as a play thing for the fuckers you work with"

He only chortled at my utterance, gaze laden in mine.

"I need you to run a bullet in the one named Edoardo Moretti" Bastiano let out.

RomanceFiction

About the Creator

Arazella Snow

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Arazella SnowWritten by Arazella Snow

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.