Chapters logo

Lonely in Campus

feeling lonely, i do not have any friends

By Annalise ZeraPublished 8 days ago 3 min read
Lonely in Campus
Photo by Noah Silliman on Unsplash

Starting college was supposed to be the beginning of an exciting new chapter in my life – a chance to meet new people, explore new ideas, and chart my own path to success. But as the days turned into weeks, and the weeks into months, I found myself feeling increasingly isolated and overwhelmed.

Being on a campus where English was the primary language presented its own set of challenges. While I had a decent grasp of the language, I often found myself struggling to keep up with the rapid-fire conversations and complex academic jargon that seemed to flow effortlessly from the mouths of my peers.

In lectures and seminars, I would sit in silence, nodding along as my classmates engaged in lively debates and discussions, all the while feeling like an outsider desperately trying to decipher a foreign language. I longed to participate, to share my thoughts and ideas with others, but the fear of being judged or misunderstood held me back.

Outside the classroom, the struggle continued. Trying to navigate the maze of campus life without any friends or support network was like trying to find my way through a dense fog. I would wander aimlessly from one building to another, feeling lost and out of place amidst the sea of unfamiliar faces.

Simple tasks like finding my way to the library or locating the student services office became monumental challenges. I would spend hours scouring the campus map, only to end up more confused than when I started. And when I did muster the courage to ask for directions, I often found myself met with blank stares or polite but unhelpful responses.

The lack of social interaction only served to compound my sense of isolation. While my classmates formed tight-knit study groups and social circles, I found myself spending most of my time alone, retreating into the sanctuary of my dorm room where the silence was deafening.

The few attempts I made to reach out and make friends were met with mixed results. I would strike up conversations with my classmates during breaks or join extracurricular activities in the hopes of forging connections, but more often than not, I would find myself on the outskirts, watching from the sidelines as others laughed and bonded without me.

With each rejection, my confidence took another blow, until eventually, I stopped trying altogether. It was easier to retreat into myself, to build walls around my heart and convince myself that I didn't need anyone else to be happy.

But deep down, I knew that wasn't true. I longed for companionship, for someone to share my hopes and fears with, to laugh and cry and navigate this journey called life together. And yet, the fear of rejection and the pain of loneliness kept me trapped in a vicious cycle of isolation and despair.

As the days turned into weeks, and the weeks into months, I began to wonder if I would ever find my place in this unfamiliar world. But just when I thought all hope was lost, a glimmer of light appeared on the horizon – a chance encounter with a fellow student who, like me, was struggling to find their place in the world.

In that moment, I realized that I wasn't alone – that there were others out there who shared my struggles and understood my pain. Together, we formed a bond forged in the fires of adversity, supporting each other through the highs and lows of college life and reminding each other that no matter how dark the road may seem, there is always hope on the horizon.

Self-help

About the Creator

Annalise Zera

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

  • Halima Begum6 days ago

    nice written

Annalise ZeraWritten by Annalise Zera

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.