Chapters logo

Linus

June 4, 2023

By Morgan LongfordPublished 2 days ago 3 min read

June 4 2023

LINUS

I opened my eyes one at a time and the sun was so bright so I had to squint a little but it also feels so warm and soft on my skin and I rolled around in the grass on my back with my feet in the air and everything felt light and weightless and like I was floating but I wasn’t because I was on the grass but that is how light I felt and when I jumped up so so fast and nothing ached and I was so strong so I started running in circles and noticed I was in a big green field and so I ran as fast as I could to the other side of it and I was as fast as the wind blows and the wind blew my ears back like in a car but it was because I was so fast, and when I got to the other side of the field I turned around and ran back to where I started and again I was so fast, maybe even faster than the first time, faster than I ever ran after a frisbee which I thought was impossible but I was running as fast as the wind and when I got to the other side, to the spot I woke up from my nap, there was a field of carrots which was wonderful because I love carrots and I thought this must be what Heaven is like, filled with carrot snacks and a body that is light and I thought “how do I know what Heaven is?” and I just knew that there was a place after the world with my people but before I could think about it too long a rabbit raced across my path and I could tell it wanted me to follow it so I chased the rabbit over a hill and then chased it more up to the top of the highest mountain and the rabbit disappeared and the sun was really close to my face and I closed my eyes to soak the sunbeam into my bones even though they didn’t hurt anymore, and when I opened them this time, the whole sky was dark except for way far away where it was bright, and there was a rainbow. I wanted to go towards the rainbow even though it was dark it felt safe-dark so I started walking but slowly, not like the wind but like when I stop to sniff everything on a walk with Mom or Big Guy. But I kept walking, and the rainbow didn’t get closer and the hill didn’t get further so it stayed the same distance ahead and behind and then the rabbit showed up again so this time I did not chase it but instead I crouched down really low to the ground so I could look in its eyes as best as I could and I moved slowly so that I didn’t startle him and he wiggled his little rabbit nose and so I showed him I could wag my tail but I think he already knew that and he came closer and then closer and then he whispered in my ear. He told me many secrets about the world with people in it and about my body and what was happening, and he told me secrets about this place with the rainbows and the grass and the carrots and the wind that carries me and smells like the waves I like to splash in and I understood and felt sad and happy all at the same time. The rabbit whispered one more thing in my ear before he turned into a ball of glowing light and floated away in sparkling dust made of stars, he told me to call out a name. I didn’t understand why but I trusted this rabbit so I did what he said and I stood up tall on the mountain side with the rainbow in front of me and the field of carrots behind me and I got puffed up really big and as loud as I could, I called out a name. I heard it echo as far as the rainbow and beyond, and in all the spaces that are dark and light. I called out a name, and that name was Charlie.

Young AdultMemoirMagical RealismFictionFantasyBiographyAdventure

About the Creator

Morgan Longford

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Morgan LongfordWritten by Morgan Longford

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.