Chapters logo

Grieving The Dead, And The Living

Excerpt from a memoir I might write someday

By Jaye Ruggiero-CashPublished 8 months ago 3 min read
8
Grieving The Dead, And The Living
Photo by Soroush Alavi on Unsplash

As I pulled up to the cemetery, I felt a sort of dread in the pit of my stomach. I hardly ever went there anymore. It was hard to. Losing my brother still weighs so heavily on my heart, even now. But I felt a little better about it this time because Eric would be there with me. I figured, at least I wouldn’t be alone.

I saw Eric ride up on his bike. I was happy to see him. I’d been wanting his company, and I thought he was happy to have my company too. Wishful thinking, I guess.

He leaned his bike up against my car and we walked up to the gravesite together.

I sat there, quiet. Reflecting. Grieving. Sitting in my brother’s company for the first time in a while, wishing he were here. But then I turned around and saw Eric standing several feet away from me, as if he were avoiding me…

At first I tried to tell myself that it wasn’t what it looked like, and that I was just misunderstanding things. But I wasn’t. Deep down, I knew that that was exactly what he was doing.

This was beyond just feeling awkward or not knowing what to do in a grieving situation; I knew very well what that looked like. This was straight up not caring.

I instantly started to feel uncomfortable. Still, I tried my best to turn the situation around.

I motioned at him to come sit with me, and he did. I talked a bit, mindlessly. Just kind of processing my thoughts out loud. He responded with all the “right” things to say. But something about the tone of his voice when he spoke didn’t feel right. It didn’t feel authentic. It felt cold and robotic. And he kept acting like that towards me the rest of the time, like he'd rather be anywhere but there with me.

I started to wish I’d just gone there alone.

We sat there quietly for a while longer. And without even realizing it, I kind of shut off my own emotions. All I could do was zone out and try to bury my feelings. Losing my brother was the most traumatic thing I’d ever gone through. And Eric just sat there and coldly watched as I was immersed in my pain.

And that’s when I realized how in denial I was. I had been for a long time. But at that point I couldn’t deny it anymore. The truth was staring me right in the face. I was finally starting to understand that I hadn’t fallen in love with him. Just the façade he presented to the world. The ideal version of him that I had in my head.

But now his mask had fallen away, along with my rose-colored glasses. I saw him for who he really was, and that he would never be the person I thought he was or wanted him to be.

Eventually, we both got up to leave. It was sad how relieved I was, but I just wanted to get away from him at that point. We said goodbye and I watched him ride away on his bike as I got back into my car.

I kept thinking about how dumb I’d been to expect any kind of emotional support from him. I felt embarrassed, ashamed, betrayed, and angry. I even somewhat resented him. I wondered why he even came there with me in the first place. He could’ve easily said no when I asked. Why didn’t he?

But in that moment, I could finally grieve. Not only for my brother, but for Eric too. For the love I had for him, and for the person I thought he was.

And that’s when I finally let out all the emotions I’d been holding back, and I began to cry.

Young AdultNonfictionMemoir
8

About the Creator

Jaye Ruggiero-Cash

Writer | Poet | Musician | Actor | Model

Lover of all things arts & humanities

Gluten-Free Foodie

"When we are shaped by the sounds and shades of truth, the colors never fade."

Join Vocal+ with my link

Follow Me!

Instagram

TikTok

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  4. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  5. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (6)

Sign in to comment
  • Rachel Robbins3 months ago

    You deserve someone who can sit with your pain. Grief is a sign of how much you can love. Thank you for writing this.

  • This was so heartbreaking in so many ways. Wonderfully written

  • sleepy drafts3 months ago

    Oh, this is so heartbreaking. I'm so sorry you went through this. I'm glad that you're no longer with Eric. You deserve so much more than that. Thank you for opening up and writing about this. I imagine it can't have been easy. 💗

  • Ashley Shiflett3 months ago

    Very very touching story. ❤️ Written beautifully.

  • Babs Iverson7 months ago

    Poignantly written!!!💕❤️❤️

  • Antoinette L Brey7 months ago

    Very touching story, sorry you didn't get more support

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.