Chapters logo

Curiosity Won't Play

Part 1

By Lillianna NightveilPublished 2 months ago 15 min read
1
Curiosity Won't Play
Photo by Guzel Maksutova on Unsplash

“What’s it like on the Other Side?” Steph asked, looking up from their homework.

“The other side...of what?” James asked. “I’m afraid I don’t understand where you’re going...”

Though he had his suspicions, he wanted to be sure it wasn’t what he was thinking. He glanced over to his wife, Frey, who only shrugged.

“The other side of this life, the Outer or Astral Plane, whatever you want to call it,” they replied. “You keep mentioning it late at night.”

So, you don’t go to bed when I tell you to? James thought, eyeing his child suspiciously. “That might explain why I have such a tough time getting you up for school every morning. But that’s beside the point.” He placed his tablet to the side, crossing his arms.

“Dad, I’m fifteen; I should be allowed to stay up later than nine-thirty every night,” Steph retorted.

“I never meant for you to know anything about that," he sighed. "But it seems there’s no getting around it now.” He stood up, beckoning them to follow him into the study.

"It's something that can't quite be explained in simple terms," James started, taking a notebook from his desk. "I've taken notes and 'drew' what I've encountered on my own journeys." He thumbed through a couple more pages, contemplating.

"Okay, so it's just a random assortment of images?" Steph asked, starting to lose interest. "Then, it's just dreams."

James shook his head. "It's controlled dreams; but done in a way that takes time to master."

Steph took the notebook, looking through the notes written there. After a moment, they gave it back. "What are those drawings of? They kind of look like creatures I've read about in mythology."

"That's because they are," James replied. "Anything you can think of can and does exist on the Other Side."

The pair spent the next several hours discussing what lay beyond the mortal realm, until Steph began to show signs of fatigue. They had no idea how much time and preparation was required just to be able to visit the Astral in short bursts.

"Well, I think that's enough mysticism for one day," James said, looking to the clock on his wall. It wasn't a school night, but it was still late. "Time to get some rest. Didn't you have plans with your mother or your friends in the morning?"

Steph shook their head. "I wasn't going to do anything until tomorrow afternoon," they stifled a yawn. "But, I guess I am a bit tired, now. Good night, Dad."

By Jake Weirick on Unsplash

Over the course of the next several months, James took Steph under his wing to teach them everything he knew about traveling to the Other Side. They got to the point that they were able to alter their appearance to their own liking.

Where in the waking world, Steph looked more like their assigned sex, being female. Here, they achieved an androgynous look. They changed the color of their eyes from hazel to a sky blue. The only thing they couldn't do anything about was a scar on their left forearm that happened due to an accident with a window. This was their distinguishing mark for anyone that knew them if they needed to be identified.

"Wow," James said, looking his child over. "I can hardly believe you're my kid. You actually look more like someone who spent their whole life here."

"I did learn from the best teacher," Steph replied. "This is really how I want to look while I'm awake as well, not just in my mind."

James nodded. "We'll get you there," he said. "It's just going to take time. We can't do anything while the government controls what we can and can't do medically."

Steph lowered their gaze, "I know."

"Okay, I think it's time we actually got to exploring, don't you?" James said, looking out beyond their current position.

They've been working so long on their appearance; Steph forgot the whole reason behind coming here in the first place.

It would be nice to meet some creatures of myth, they thought. Maybe make some new friends.

The two wandered the Astral for what seemed like years, only to find that when they arrived back in the waking world, only three hours had passed.

"Well, that was interesting," Steph stated. "But I need to get ready to head out with my other friends."

"All right, but remember to be home before dark," James instructed. "I don't need anything happening to you guys."

"You know nothing bad'll happen," Steph replied. "I'm a good child, remember?" With a smile they left the room to prepare for the afternoon's activities. "Love you, Dad."

By Emmanuel Olguín on Unsplash

The sun was beginning to set on the horizon, and the group of friends were just about to say their good-byes, when one of them spoke up.

"You know, it is still early," George said. "I heard Sally from English is having a party since her parents are out of town for the rest of the month."

"What do her parents do?" Jordan inquired. "I mean, it seems that every other month they're out of town for something."

"Her dad's a successful DJ who holds events; her mom's a photographer for high end publishers. So, they spend a lot of time in other parts of the country."

"Must be nice to be able to travel so often," Oliver complained. "I want a job like that."

"They built their own businesses from the ground, so they must've put in a lot of work to afford what they do," Jordan explained. "I doubt you'd be able to handle that kind of responsibility."

"Very funny," Oliver chided. "So, what? Are you saying you want to go? I thought you had to be friends with her to get an invite."

"True, but I know some of the people she invited. We could just say we're there to see them."

"I don't know. Her house is three blocks from mine, and I told my dad I'd be home," Steph answered. "I don't like disappointing him."

"We know," George replied. "If you don't want to go you don't have to." He motioned to the others. "We'll go, and let you know how much of an awesome time we had on Monday, at school."

Steph stood up. "Yeah, you do that. I gotta get going." They started to walk in the opposite direction. "I'll see you guys on Monday, if not sooner."

Just as they entered the street, three cars came barreling around the corner at high speeds. Without thinking, Steph tried to jump out of the way, but it was too late.

The first car hit them head on, sending them over the roof and into the second, while the third veered off, and headed down another street.

"Oh my god," Jordan called out. "Steph, are you all right?" Looking to the others, she said, "Call 9-1-1, we have to get them some help!"

By camilo jimenez on Unsplash

Steph lie motionless in the street, while the others gathered around, trying to be as useful as possible.

Almost immediately an ambulance arrived on the scene. The paramedics took Steph and Jordan to the hospital while the other two tried their best to describe the events that took place to the police.

Arriving to the hospital, Jordan explained everything to the doctors.

"Unresponsive teenager, vitals are weak, but present," a nurse started. "Upon moving the body, there is a possible concussion, as well as the right arm is broken along with some ribs."

"Thank you, I'll take it from here," the doctor replied. "Miss, you'll need to wait in the lobby until we get some X-Rays and blood samples from the patient."

"Please," Jordan started, tears in her eyes, "I want to be near them. They're my best friend."

The doctor looked at the chart, then back to Jordan. "You keep saying 'they or them when referring to Stephanie..."

"Steph," Jordan interrupted. "They identify as non-binary, so use they/them pronouns."

The doctor nodded. "Very well, I'll remember that when I speak with h...er their parents."

Jordan entered the lobby, just as James and Frey entered the hospital. She ran to them, sobbing and trying to get an apology out between cries. James hugged her tightly as though he was hugging his own child.

"We came as soon as we got the call," he said. "What happened? Are you all right?"

"It's Steph," Jordan sobbed. "They've been hit by a car." It was hard to relive the image of her best friend lying still on the ground, like just another roadkill. "I tried to think of something before they entered the road, but I couldn't."

"Shh...shh..." Frey comforted. "It's going to be okay; we know how you feel."

"Where's the doctor that's in charge?" James asked, looking around the waiting room.

"I'm right here," the doctor stated. "I'm Susan; I was the one that checked your child in, along with the paramedics."

"Can we see Steph, now?" James insisted. "Which room are they in?"

Susan shook her head, "They aren't in a room, yet. I need to take some X-Rays and do some blood work to make sure we know the extent of the damage."

"That's fine," Frey replied. "We'll wait here until you let us know what you can." James gave her a look, but Frey paid him no mind. "How long until you know anything?"

Susan shook her head, again. "Right now, all we know is that they are unresponsive, possibly suffering a concussion, but that's only speculation at this point. Until I can run some tests, it won't be certain for at least an hour."

"Fine," James replied. "We'll wait here." He looked to Jordan. "You should head home. We'll let you know what we know, okay?"

Jordan shook her head. "I want to be here for them. I'll just call my mom and let her know where I am, so she doesn't worry."

James nodded, walking to the main area, seating himself, and preparing for a long wait.

By Fran Jacquier on Unsplash

Steph got up and headed toward the street. They turned to face their friends, smiling as they said, "You do that. I have to get home; I'll see you on Monday, if not sooner."

As soon as they stepped into the street, three cars charged around the corner, at high speeds. The drivers obviously didn't care to notice the person, walking backward, through the center of the street.

The first car collided with Steph, just as they turned to face the direction of the cars. They went over the roof of the car, and collided with the second, just as the driver realized what was happening.

The second car continued behind the first, running the body over causing it to roll three feet from where they started. The third car veered off to the right, continuing down a side street to avoid the scene.

Steph could here yelling, from behind them, but couldn't tell who it was. They stood up, looking around, but everything was in a haze.

"Can you hear me?" came a voice from their left.

Steph turned to look for the source of the voice, but couldn't make out anything clearly enough.

"What happened? I hear you," they said. "But I don't see too well."

"Of course not," the voice seemed sympathetic. "This is the first time you've been here unaided." After a short pause, the voice continued. "If you'd like, I can clear everything up for you."

"Please," Steph replied. "I'm getting a headache from feeling like I just got run over by a truck."

"Mid-sized sedan, but we're not here for semantics," the voice replied.

In the next instant, Steph's vision cleared, and they could see three people huddled over something in the center of the street. It looked like their friends, but they were all facing the other direction. One was on the phone, looking around frantically, while the other two stared, unable to comprehend what was happening.

Steph wanted to approach them, but was afraid of what they might see.

"You may want to cover your ears, if you don't want to lose your hearing," the voice instructed.

"Why---" but Steph felt a piercing pain shoot through their skull as sirens blared in the distance. They did as instructed, watching as an ambulance and a police car arrived on the scene.

Steph entered the ambulance, just as the paramedics were hoisting the gurney into the vehicle. Looking to the form lying on the bed, they noticed it was their body. Steph gasped, but could only look on as Jordan joined the paramedics, giving as much information as she could to aid in the dilemma.

"What is this?" Steph asked. "Am I dead?"

"No... not quite, really," the voice answered. "Your vital signs are weak, but given enough time to rest, you should be able to get back to your body with little trouble."

"Why can't I see you?" Steph wondered. "I'd like to be able to address my companion properly, if possible."

"Certainly; just look toward the sound of my voice, but closer to the ground," the voice instructed.

Steph did so, and was surprised to see that their companion was no more than six inches tall, with wings the color of turquoise and hues of orange mixed with green. They were dressed in the style of male clothing; a tunic and vest with brown leggings and simple shoes. This was one of the fae folk Steph had wanted to meet, just not in these circumstances.

"My name would be unpronounceable in your tongue, so you may call me Jack," the faerie said, introducing himself. "And you, Steph, are currently in the space between."

"That can't be right," Steph insisted. "I've been to the Astral before with my father on numerous occasions, how is it different this time?"

"Because this isn't the Astral," Jack replied. "Like I said this is the space between, whether it's Heaven and Hell; Life and Death, that's up to you, and your current predicament. This is beyond your control."

"Like hell it is," Steph protested. "I'm getting back into my body and..."

"...And what, get back to your life?" Jack paused. "This isn't like those trips with your father. This is much more dangerous. There are things here that will send you to Oblivion, a place you should have no desire to go."

Before Steph could think of anything else to say, they arrived to the hospital. When they looked to where Jack was, the space was empty.

Great, just when I needed some guidance, you go and vanish on me, Steph thought, miserably.

As the gurney was wheeled into the building, Steph felt a hard pull at the back of their head, forcing them out of the vehicle.

By Jon Tyson on Unsplash

After what felt like hours of waiting, Susan returned to the lobby. James and Frey stood up, desperate to hear something good. Jordan looked up from her phone, standing with the others. However, the look on the doctor's face told them they were going to get the opposite.

"I'm sorry," Susan began. "Their vital signs are very weak, but they are still alive. The accident they suffered left them with three broken ribs, their right arm is fractured in two places, and the worst of it, they suffered a major concussion which has caused them to go into a comatose state."

"Can we see them, yet?" James insisted. "I can't sit here and do nothing. I at least need to be near my child."

"I understand," Susan replied. "They were just admitted to a room; I'll take you there, now." She headed for the elevator and motioned for them to join her. "We took them to the third floor for observation, in case their condition worsens."

"How long will they be here?" Frey asked.

Susan shook her head. "We won't know until their vitals get stronger. It could take months, or they may never wake up."

Jordan began to sob silently in the corner of the elevator, wishing there was some way to prevent what happened.

Upon reaching the third floor, the group headed down a hall of rooms, each exactly like the last. One room had sounds of machinery running and beeping. As they came to Steph's room, Jordan ran in, taking hold of their hand; desperate that her touch might awaken her closest friend.

"Steph, I'm so sorry," Jordan cried. "I had no idea what was happening, until it was too late."

It was hard for any of them to recognize Steph through all the machinery and the bandages, but they knew it was them.

"I'll leave you alone for a few minutes," Susan spoke, quietly. "Please, let me know if there's anything I can do for you."

They all nodded their heads, looking at the disfigured form lying on the bed.

Steph looked on as the doctor explained everything that had happened. They were shocked, because nothing she said made any sense. How could she know they were in a coma, other than the lack of responsiveness, and their bones didn't feel broken, other than a slight discomfort.

"That's because your body and mind are disconnected at the moment," he announced.

"Where have you been?" Steph asked. "I really could have used some help back at the entrance."

"I come and go as I please," he snapped, "and just because you're new to this whole existence possibly being an illusion is not my responsibility."

"Then, why did you come back?"

"To give you one more warning." He hesitated. "Watch your heartline. If it fades completely or snaps, that's it. You'll become a permanent resident of this side, if not worse."

Part 1Magical RealismFictionFantasy
1

About the Creator

Lillianna Nightveil

I am a parent to four children; a perfectionist who finds it very difficult to finish any project without many revisions.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Test2 months ago

    Beautifully written story!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.