Chapters logo

Chapter 1

Stress and loss

By jer JerPublished 5 months ago 4 min read
3
Chapter 1
Photo by Anthony DELANOIX on Unsplash

I went to the kitchen and I could feel mom look at me.She moved her eyes up and down carefully assessing what I was wearing And then said nervously with a stutter “how did you sleep Sweetie?”

I looked at her and said annoyed “ok”

She smiled softly and looked down at our eggs After a couple of minutes of looking at the eggs, she said Softly “so How's Chris doing”

I looked at her as I smiled and said Angrily “his brothers died how do you think he's doing”

Mom look down inside as she whispered softly “I know”

I stood there in silence for what felt like an eternity until my phone buzzed.Have a text from Chris asking me if I wanted to hang out before school.I opened my phone and quickly texted him back to hang out with him,Then I grab my backpack my mom asked me “where I was going”

Said quickly “I'm going to hang out with Chris”

My mom yelled back at me “wait I have some from it's on the counter”

Clear and words me holding a lunch yet she handed it to me and smiled.Give this time okay I nodded my head quickly and then walked outside I went to go pick up Chris. When I got there Chris was waiting outside His backpack partially over his shoulder and his hair a mess.He quickly ran over to me smiling here dark black circles under his eyes he hadn't been sleeping well since his brother passed away.I looked at him for a second then he unzipped his backpack and pulled out a pack of cigarettes.Pop in his mouth and proceeded me and proceeded to offer me one Grand Theft Auto his hand thanking him and proceeded to take out the lighter from my pocket.Do I do with the cigarette in his hand I let it for him then I want my own.I took a long drag from it and then asked “how's your mom doing”

Who is a really weird subject to talk about with him mostly because of the fact that his mom was okay and hadn't been okay since his dad passed away 2 years ago.

He took a short out of a cigarette and then said “she hasn't gotten out she hasn't left her room for a week”

“Oh” I Whispered looking down at the ground “Hey if i’m need anything we're here oh by the way my mom made me lunch” I said handing him the lunch kit.

“Thanks Mandy,” He exclaimed, putting his arm over my shoulder as he smiled .After a little bit of standing there in silence he said “I wonder if he's in heaven with my dad I wonder if my brother is in heaven with my dad”

I smelled fake as I said “yeah your brothers in heaven With your dad”

Chris's brother Michael was definitely Down on the other hand I don't think he was Kristoff and his dad was this nice sweet perfect guy. Michael on the other hand saw Your dad for what he really was: a cheater , a liar, an abuser. All of these things were words that Michael used to describe his dad. The dad that Michael saw but Chris never did. At one point I even got to see. It was about six or seven months before their dad died. Michael caught his dad cheating and their mom. Instead of the dad talking about it I got to watch him beat the crap out of Michael on my front lawn.I thought about what happened. I took a big drag from my cigarette and then stomped it out on the ground.First looked at me puzzled and confused “why did you put out the cigarette they're still like half of it left” He said as he stared at me puzzled.Set a timer for a minute then said “oh I just didn't want it anymore”

No come on let's get going to school I said trying to sound to Enthusiastic. “Okay” he said blankley but “I'm finishing the cigarette first”. He only Took up smoking about a year and a half ago. It was sort of his way of coping with his dad's death but he's been smoking a lot more after his brother passed away. Took a couple more drags of a cigarette until it was so burnt down today cuz I almost burned his fingers then proceeded to stomp it out on the sidewalk and we began to walk to school.

Young Adult
3

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.