Chapters logo

Blue Hand

Aw man!

By Kristen UlrichPublished 8 months ago 3 min read
1

One evening in the fall of 2017, I was eating at Applebees with my boyfriend at the time. I looked down at my right hand, and I noticed it was blue. I thought that I had touched something blue. Concerned, I went to the bathroom and washed my hands. The color did not go away. It looked like that part of me was dead, something out of a Frankenstein movie.

Fortunately we were at the end of dinner, so we paid the check and left. We went back to my house and showed my family. Everyone was very concerned. We went to the emergency room.

My boyfriend drove me to the ER. On the way, he played, “I’m Blue” by Eiffel 65. For those of you who don’t know, it was a song that was very big in the nineties. “I’m blue, dabadee dabadai.” We had a laugh about it. It was nice to laugh briefly on such a serious night. After that, went inside the hospital. My Mom met us there. The doctor was a very calm man. He was very puzzled by my situation, because I otherwise seemed fine. He ordered an ultrasound.

A while later I went for my ultrasound. I was nervous because I didn’t know why my hand had turned blue. The woman placed gel on the machine and rubbed it down my arm. I saw the inside of my arm on a sonogram. I could hear my heartbeat on the machine as she was doing the ultrasound. I was wondering what was wrong with my body.

After the ultrasound, the nurse wheeled me back to my hospital room and I waited for the results with my Mom. I was nervous because I thought that something could have been seriously wrong with me. My boyfriend had left by that time. He had to go to work the next day. Later, the results finally came. The doctor stated that the ultrasound results were normal. He didn’t know why my hand had turned blue. The nurse had also taken my blood and the bloodwork came back normal too. The doctor told me to follow up with my doctor and then discharged me from the hospital.

The next day, my hand was back to normal. To this day, I still don’t know why my hand turned blue. It must have been some sort of freak occurrence. My friend thought this could have been a sign of Raynaud’s disease. This is when some areas of the body feel cold and change color in response to cold temperature or stress. It was kind of cold in Applebees. Still, I don’t think I have that disease. This is because it only happened once. If my hand had stayed blue, then I would have gone to the doctor. It was one of many interesting nights in my life. I’m happy that everything turned out okay. I will never forget that night. I hope that my hand doesn’t turn blue again. I doubt that it will.

Autobiography
1

About the Creator

Kristen Ulrich

Please view my website:

http://www.bluerosesweb.com

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.