Chapters logo

Beginning today 4/5/2024...I shall be highlighting works by exceptional Black authors on this platform. Chapter 1.

Today I feature the Heart of Andrew Little.

By Novel AllenPublished about a month ago 3 min read
9
A Black Dahlia Production

Winner of the True Colors Challenge 3 years ago. Karlton A. Armistad is Andrew Little. Here, pseudonyms abound.

My life as a flow of colors - First place winner.

...........................................................

Today's feature however is:

This is his fantastic ECLIPSE entry. It is really a powerful piece which speaks of his personal emancipation, freedom and living free of labels.

~~~~~~~

I have been subscribed to Andrew for quite a while, but navigating this rather large garden of talent is quite a daunting task. Yet, I have found him again and that is what matters. Andrew hails from my homeland of Jamaica and resides in Scotland. He has been writing here since 2020 in his own blend of strength and humility, planting his colorfully worded brand of floral artistic delights.

His work is magnificent and appeals to my sense of the growth from self- doubt to self-actualization.

In this work, he speaks of being troubled and maybe feeling a bit lonely and downcast. He tells of his horrors and terrors, of the pain of losing his mother, of love and loss and the trials of a life yearning for higher dimensions.

"Did no one at all think I deserved my Billy Elliott or Lion King victory

Lips as sweet as Jamaican Julie Mangoes in Summer, spread their juices through my veins, I can't hold on any longer

Praying for that 'aint-gonna-get-here' miracle, that massive Lottery win

Watching it happen for everyone bastard else, My heart says I should give in".

Yet, he ends it with hope.

"Troubled I was, Free now am I. Anxiety & Depression had there final session, their verdict; the Boy is Free to Fly". He writes.

~~~~~~~~

Andrew's use of artwork is unique and fabulous.

"I am dedicating this piece to a woman that embodies the struggles of black Women everywhere, and their ability to turn negative challenges into positive Life lessons and ultimately global success. Congratulations to Judge Ketanji Brown-Jackson for making history as the 1st black woman nominated to the United States of America’s Supreme Court (SCOTUS), representing the voices of Millions and giving hope to little black girls across the world". Writes Andrew.

He writes of a specific woman here, but the words echo the lives of Black women and women in general everywhere.

"They can never hold you down or

Keep your legacy from rising off the ground

Past the stars, further even than Mars

Black Woman, black Sista, Black Mother, Black Teacher".

~~~~~~~~

From first love to still holding on after many years and trials have passed, still together they rise and walk on, even unto their golden twilight years.

"She holds on to his arm firmly

His arms, still safe & sturdy

They have weathered the storms

Over-coming pain in all forms"~~~

Faithful and true, the love endures Andrew writes:

"He has always seen her bold beauty

Woman, once a girl

She has always felt safe trusting him with her whole world

As they walk through life, wind, shade or showers

They always viewed every moment as ‘ours' ".

~~~~~~~~~~

A look at then and now. Andrew wonders if very much has changed in the grand scheme of things.

"As the drums I beat to move my Feet

Has You not wanting to get to know Me

But comin’ at Me like you think You Own Me

So I have to correct You, Educate You, Train You to

Accept life and others as your global brothers

Yes, I have fought for My Seat at this Table

In this Nation

And I will be damned if I let You take My…Representation".

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Well said my brother. Here is hoping you receive the representation that you truly deserve.

About the Creator

Andrew Little

Carlton A. Armistad is the pseudonym for Andrew R. Little. I prefer writing under this as it allows me to look at any body of work I complete separate to my personal day-to-existence, and safeguards my relationships and family.

.............................................................................................................

EssayNonfictionHistory
9

About the Creator

Novel Allen

Every new day is a blank slate. Write something new.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Add your insights

Comments (4)

Sign in to comment
  • Miss Catherineabout a month ago

    Thank you for this insight, and guess what? I just subscribed to him.

  • Lacy Loar-Gruenlerabout a month ago

    Novel, this is a wonderful idea. I subscribe to you but may not have found Andrew's work without you pointing it out from the million writers on Vocal. You are kind and generous!

  • Babs Iversonabout a month ago

    Fantastic!!! Loved this!!! Congratulations Novel on your new adventure!!!💕❤️❤️

  • D. ALEXANDRA PORTERabout a month ago

    This is epic, Lady Novel!!! Congratulations on taking this new journey!!!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.