BookClub logo

Words That Changed My World

I wonder how many books I've read in my life. Probably too many to count. But there are a few which had a deep impact on me, and I consider this the first.

By L.C. SchäferPublished 9 months ago Updated 9 months ago 5 min read
16
Words That Changed My World
Photo by Michael on Unsplash

I don't remember a time when I couldn't read. This is one of my earliest memories of reading. It's one of my earliest memories, full-stop.

I am lying in my sister's bed in my pyjamas. We are curled close together under a pale pink duvet. It's warm and cosy, and my sister smells nice. Like soap and shampoo. She's holding the book so that I can see the pages and running her finger along each line. It makes sense - her voice, low and slow, matches each word as her finger runs along it.

There, shining in the sunrise, larger than they had seen him before, shaking his mane (for it had apparently grown again)

What sorcery was this? I could see it happening, like watching TV, but better. More vivid, more real... just happening on the inside of my head instead of on a screen. The golden lion, enormous and vibrant against the colourful sky; the girls watching him, their tear-streaked faces shocked and overjoyed; the countryside all around them.

I was so impressed - not just by the story (which had me completely gripped) but also by the process. The startling magic of it: how the writer reached inside my brain and painted a picture so clear and detailed. What spell he worked to dream up such a story, patiently spin it on the tip of his pen, then show it to me and entrance me with it.

As soon as we were done with the book, my sister very kindly loaned me (gave me? I'm not sure, but I probably never returned it) her copy of The Horse and his Boy and I never looked back. A bookwyrm was hatched, and boy was it hungry!

I loved The Horse & His Boy, but not quite as much as The Lion, The Witch & The Wardrobe. I found the parts with Aravis difficult to read and even more difficult to relate to. Now? I could cheerfully re-read it today (and I have). It bears up very well. I like it better than The Lion... I think my favourite part was (spoiler incoming) when Bree teaches Sasha to ride. That bit still makes me smile.

I re-read The Lion, The Witch & The Wardrobe many times as a child. At some point I read it as part of the complete series, but I enjoyed it best as a stand alone story.

I completely adored the imagery in it. The little girl in the snowy forest, the Faun with his parcels. I could taste the butter of their crumpets (not a euphemism); I could feel the heat of the steam from their tea. I could hear the comforting sounds - the thud of his hoofbeats on the floor, the homely clink of crockery and the cosy crackle of the fire. I could see my own face in the polished wood of the furniture.

Any time the world was too big, too scary, too confusing or disappointing or boring.... I could go back there any time I wanted.

It was beautiful, and every time I paid another visit it was just as gorgeous as before, if not more.

The witch, of course, completely scared the pants off me, but in the very best way. I knew I was completely safe and in control. If it got too much, I could close the book (ha! take that, witch!) Not to mention, I knew that eventually she would surely get her comeuppance. The good guys would win. The fun part was finding out how. I think I even knew this the very first time - knew it with the resonance of ancient stories in my bones. This is how it goes. Good over evil. Hero triumphs. (Game of Thrones has since stripped away that smug innocence.)

These days The Lion, the Witch & The Wardrobe doesn't hold up so well for me. With adult eyes, I see that Lewis didn't dream up this story at all - he pinched it from Christianity. The re-telling of an archaic tale doesn't offend me in the least. I do exactly the same thing myself on occasion. It bugs me that I feel preached at when reading it, and I don't like that. I think I would dislike it even if I were a Christian. It reads like a blatant promotion of Christianity rather than just a commentary on it, and an examination on the themes of temptation and redemption.

That said, I still have a soft spot for this book, and I always will. It will always be special to me because (how fitting) it opened a door for me to a magical world. The world of books and reading.

Thanks to this book, I was already literate before I started school (early as it turned out).

To see other little kids (bigger than me, mind you) struggling to follow the curve of an Aa, sounding out c - a - t and learning the difference between "b" and "d"... I remember finding that a bit alien. Aren't they on to the fun part of reading yet?

This book is special to me for another reason as well. Before it, I'd made up many little stories inside my own head. Sometimes my sister would help me put them to paper. Sometimes I'd murmur bits of them to myself as I went along to see what they sounded like. Or I'd have a go at writing them on whatever I could find with whatever I could steal. But they were short, or fragmented. This was on a whole new level for me.

Lewis stuck a crowbar into my imagination, split it open, and broadened the scope of my little scribbles. Exponentially.

I was filled with wonder and excitement at the realms of what was possible. I thought, One day, I'm going to write a book like that.

Who knows, maybe I still might.

+++++++

Edit to add...

I have some questions! But first, THANK YOU for reading. I appreciate it very much.

1. I'm curious how you came across this piece. Through Facebook? Instagram? Did I pop up in your notifications? Did I (gasp, shock, etc.) make it to the front page?

2. Let me know what stood out to you - did anything resonate, have I made a typo, was sentence especially pleasing or clunky?

3. If you'd like to leave me a link: please show me your entry to this challenge 😁

Some more books that affected me deeply, and which I strongly recommend:

Challenge
16

About the Creator

L.C. Schäfer

Book-baby is available on Kindle Unlimited

Flexing the writing muscle

Never so naked as I am on a page. Subscribe for nudes.

Here be micros

Twitter, Insta Facey

Sometimes writes under S.E.Holz

"I've read books. Well. Chewed books."

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  4. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  5. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (12)

Sign in to comment
  • Donna Fox (HKB)9 months ago

    L.C. I love the way you describe the magic of a great author and how they have the ability to get inside your mind and paint such beautiful images, even having the ability to stir feelings inside us! I have heard have the titles mentions in this article but have never gotten around to reading them. I’ll have to add them to my list! I totally understand the feeling of an old story not holding up to adult standards anymore, it’s like watching a favourite movie and realizing you’ve out grown it! Which is heartbreaking! I can’t wait to get in line to buy the books you will write, LC!

  • Ashley McGee9 months ago

    Found you on Facebook. We're in the Great Incantations Group together. If you want a laugh, my not-so-serious rebuttal to The Chronicles of Narnia is quite its literary opposite, The Chronicles Of Prydain. I wrote it up here. https://vocal.media/geeks/lloyd-alexander-s-grim-legendary-fantasy If you're interested, my entry to this challenge is here: https://vocal.media/bookclub/does-a-dog-use-his-napkin

  • It is incredible the number of writer origin stories that follow the same arc as yours: we read something we really loved and said “I want to write my own book like that.” Hell, that’s how I got my start, too. Really makes you wonder what larger impacts your writing could have once it’s out in the world. I talk about that a bit in my own challenge entry: https://vocal.media/bookclub/bambi-a-life-in-the-woods

  • Awww, it was so cute that you closed the book when it got too much! 1. It popped up in my Vocal notifications! 2. I really liked the crowbar part! 3. I don't have anything for this challenge but I do have a new poem, lol! I enjoyed reading this!

  • Manisha Dhalani9 months ago

    Hey - came across your stories on the latest stories tab. For someone who claims to have read a lot of books, I've never read The Lion, The Witch & The Wardrobe! This makes me want to give it a go, even if I'm in my 30s now. Thanks.

  • Ian Read9 months ago

    Interestingly, my first forays into the imagination as a child were largely mythology, folklore, and ghost stories (which largely explains my choice of profession and hobbies). Then I got started with things like Tolkien and Riordan and somehow that slid into Poe, Shelley, and the like. Honestly, imagination is the best place to be.

  • Excellent insight into how books have affected you

  • Dana Crandell9 months ago

    Well, then. :) This popped up in my notifications. I think your opening is what really stood out. You described the memory so sensually that it begged me to read the rest. Exactly what an opening should do. I haven't read the chronicles, so I can only draw from the movie. I may have to remedy that.

  • Sid Aaron Hirji9 months ago

    Nice I loved these books too. I came across this via notification, and what stands out to me is regardless of the Christian themes you loved the book-the whole thing about temptation etc.

  • Wonderful and terrific. I really enjoyed reading this. I have never read this book!!! I guess it's time I did. Just as a heads up the link on the line: "I'd have to go at writing them" does not work. I found this from the Facebook group Vocal + Assist

  • Teresa Renton9 months ago

    Brilliant! And I agree with your points. As a child, I read with no idea of the religious links. It was a transformational set of books ❤️

  • Sonia Heidi Unruh9 months ago

    So much of this rings true for me as well. I love the sensory concreteness of your engagement with the story, as well as the metaphors you conjure for the magic of reading and writing. My favorite line: "Lewis stuck a crowbar into my imagination, split it open, and broadened the scope of my little scribbles." Wonderful piece!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.