BookClub logo

The Unfiltered, Unapologetic Account of Mindy Kaling: A Review of 'Is Everyone Hanging Out Without Me? (And Other Concerns)'

Book Review

By StaringalePublished 3 months ago 3 min read
3
The Unfiltered, Unapologetic Account of Mindy Kaling: A Review of 'Is Everyone Hanging Out Without Me? (And Other Concerns)'
Photo by Mikołaj on Unsplash

Book Stats: Is Everyone Hanging Out Without Me? (And Other Concerns) written by Mindy Kaling published on 1st November 2011.

A windy afternoon, I was walking back home from the campus enjoying the cool blowing wind that was shaking the branches of the trees causing the loose leaves to fall down and be swept away.

Whenever they came under my footsteps a soft 'crunching' sound was made that added to the beauty of nature by creating a harmonious tune with blowing wind.

An hour later I was sitting admist the pillows of furry rug infront of the fireplace. I have just borrowed a book from my younger sister; it was her school project but I wanted to read something new so I took it.

The silent warm cozy environment was perfect for reading. I immersed myself in the book. After reading, I closed the book keeping it aside, grabbed my phone to share my opinion about it with you guys.

If you haven't read it and are confused about the genre then let me clear this confusion, the genre is humorous memoir.

I did wonder before opening the book if it might sporadic or not. It is like a collection of personal essays that offer insight into the author's life, career and thoughts.

When you start reading you realise that it is as if the author is taking you on a tour of her life, sharing with you her opinions and observations on various topics.

I don't know if it was intentional but Mindy has conveniently placed several stopping points in the story which were very useful for me in taking small breaks to relax my eyes.

If I talk about the writing style I would say that it is conversational and witty.

Reading through the book you will get the main concept which is the author's journey to self-acceptance and confidence. This is clear from the way she talks about her struggles with body image and the challenges of being a woman in a male dominated society.

When she offers insights into her career, you can clearly see the challenges she was facing as a colored woman in the entertainment industry. The provision of behind-the-scenes of making of 'The Office' and 'The Mindy Project' added depth to the story.

The artful mixing of humor, candor, wisdom with a unique voice and perspective catches the readers attention making them enjoy this insightful memoir.

With all the positives there are some negatives and this book is no exception to this rule. All though I get it it was suppose to be lighthearted but I think some topics might have benefited from more introspection and analysis.

Although I like the way it was presented but I think some people find it annoying and wanted it to be more of a structured narrative rather than the essay format because it made the content feel disjointed and uncohesive.

The anecdotes although were entertaining and often insightful, it would have been better if Mindy's experience in the entertainment industry also included her thoughts and observations on broader social issues, this could have added a layer of depth to the memoir.

I think a deeper exploration of the themes and topics it addresses would  have greatly benefited the story. But anyways putting all that aside I think it is a delightful and entertaining read that is both relatable and engaging to the reader.

Stretching like a cat I got up from my pillow bed, took the book back to my sister's room and placed it on the dresser in Hope's that she might actually read it today instead of putting it off till tomorrow. Let's wait and see what she does?

ReviewDiscussionBook of the DayAnalysis
3

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.