BookClub logo

Royally In Trouble – Novel Review

A Royal Romance Duet (Not Really Royal Book 2) By Meghan Quinn

By Victoria RiveraPublished 8 months ago 3 min read
2
Royally In Trouble – Novel Review
Photo by Hisu lee on Unsplash

Description:

I have two responsibilities as the new heir to the throne:

Get married.

Have babies.

Sure, becoming queen one day is part of those new responsibilities, but as long as King Theo is in charge, I don’t have to add a coronation to my list.

That’s why I find myself in the throes of wedding planning, pre-wedding classes with my broody, over-protective fiancé, and counting down the days until we can finally say I do.

But with every day we grow closer to our wedding, we seem to grow apart.

Our commonalities are tested.

Our faith in each other is questioned.

And our safety is threatened.

The only thing working? The command he has over me in the bedroom.

I keep telling myself, it’ll all work out. We just need to make it to the wedding day. Except, when the day finally comes, everything falls apart.

We might have made it through the last few months together, but now I’m not sure we’re going to make it out of this alive.

Publisher: Hot-Lanta Publishing, LLC

Publication Date: June 6, 2023

Page Count: ‎ 486 pages Paperback, 518 Kindle

Genres: Romance, Romantic Comedy, Erotica, Romantic Suspense

Tropes: Grumpy vs Sunshine, Regency Romance, Light BDSM, Forced Separation.

Spice: 🌶️🌶️🌶️.5 – Despite this one actually being labeled erotica, I felt it was less spicy. Still very spicy, but they had less intimate moments.

Review:⭐ ⭐ ⭐⭐ ⭐ This is a sequel, the first book review with character comments is here: https://vocal.media/bookclub/royally-not-ready-book-review

Keller and Lilly are at it again, and I mean that romantically and antagonistically. I am a little mad at Ms. Quinn. Book one was full of whimsy, flirtation, comedy, and smut, and yeah yeah I read the reviews where people said they were on the edge of their seats, but I didn’t actually expect that much drama! For most of the first book I was expecting something bad to happen but it never did, so I kind of just thought there would be threats made in the second book that never came to fruition. I spent the first portion of the book just being so mad at these characters, why can’t you fucking communicate! I’m looking at you Fitzwilliam! At 45% I put the Kindle down and walked away. I’m not kidding, I started two other books before getting bored with them and needing that good good drama back in my life.

At the 45% mark, Meghan punched me in the gut and then proceeded to punch me in the gut for another 100 and some-odd pages. Then my gut punch is lifted and we are back to aggravating lack of communication, once that clears up, I’m crying. Just like, fucking crying all the goddamn time. Sure sure the smut breaks up the tears, but once the lack of communication stops and we start getting vulnerable, I am a wreck, and I don’t stop being a wreck until the extended epilogue. Cause I’m crying through the whole epilogue too…I think that’s why she made a separate extended epilogue, like “Here, dry your tears with this HEA smut.”

All in all, I am hooked, I want more Meghan Quinn books, which means I need more money…anyone hiring?

Buy the Book: https://a.co/d/hPDugPz

About the Author:

#1 Amazon and USA Today Bestselling Author, wife, adoptive mother, and peanut butter lover. Author of romantic comedies and contemporary romance, Meghan Quinn brings readers the perfect combination of heart, humor, and heat in every book.

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/meghanquinnauthor

Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/meghanquinnbooks/

Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/7360513.Meghan_Quinn

Website: http://authormeghanquinn.com/

Review
2

About the Creator

Victoria Rivera

Writing fiction stories about whatever comes to mind! When I'm not writing you can find me crying about all the animals I can't adopt.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Test4 months ago

    Well written! Good job!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.