BookClub logo

Nabokov's Lolita

How Lolita Shaped My View of Men at Age Ten

By Lacy Loar-GruenlerPublished 9 months ago Updated 9 months ago 4 min read
6

My mom taught me to read when I was two. I toddled around the neighborhood reciting Dr. Seuss to anyone who would listen. By six, I had inhaled Nancy Drew, Grimm’s Fairy Tales, and anything Robert Louis Stevenson. By eight, I had blown through my dad’s library of Ian Fleming’s James Bond novels, much of Steinbeck, and a lot of private detective novels like Dashiell Hammett’s The Thin Man and The Maltese Falcon.

At 10, my mom signed me into the adult section of the public library. She would drop me off on Saturday mornings, which made me feel like a world traveler embarking on an adventure. I loved the hushed tones, the smell of paper and ink, and all the possibilities. And that was the year I discovered Vladimir Nabokov and Lolita.

At 10, I didn’t understand the dynamics of an older man preying on a 12-year-old girl, although I had a basic knowledge of sex after discovering my mom’s manual for telling your child about it, hidden in her nightstand. I was seduced because Nabokov had the ability to fool me with his lilting language. Boys my age seemed clueless while Humbert was adoring, poetic, and strong. The opportunities Lolita seemed to be afforded because of Humbert’s polished and intellectual attention charmed me: Private schools, exotic travels, established fine restaurants. He was obsessed with her, but he loved her, I deduced. And love seemed like life’s ultimate reward. Could there be anything more romantic to a 10-year-old who thought fifth grade boys were smelly and loud and rather uncouth, but men, oh, but men, weren’t they how I would eventually find that ultimate reward, love?

My mom was uncomfortable with my reading choice that week, but she supported it. “Don’t let your father know you are reading that,” she said. I read in my own bedroom, late at night, under the covers with a flashlight. My dad caught me before I finished the book with a copy of a Teen Confessional magazine, Michael Landon on the cover kissing his girlfriend. He ripped it in two and admonished me to stick to library books, never discovering Lolita under my pillow.

When I finished Lolita, I remember feeling sorry for her. She was swollen with child and still a child herself, married to a working man in a cold-water flat and presiding over a typical household of the era: expected to clean, cook, and take care of a husband and his babies. Even then, I knew Humbert’s offer was much more intriguing to me than what Lolita settled for. I hoped she chose it because it was truly what she wanted, not because she had so few choices and felt relief that she didn’t have to make them any longer. She made one when she left Humbert, there is no mistaking that, although most women leave men to go to another man.

The book made me wonder, even at 10, if Lolita ever loved anyone or was living her life to survive because she learned to let men take care of her. I doubted she was ever happy, especially with Nabokov, a magnificent writer who lacked the ability to mine the deep thoughts and feelings of women and girls, in an attempt to define them.

I have read Nabokov’s novel several times over the decades, including last year, and I have a first edition copy on my bookshelves because I have always loved the book. So here is what I learned from Lolita. Since age 10, I have never let a man define me, coerce me, or make me feel like less than I believe about myself, but I always enjoyed loving them, even though some of them along the way were decades older than I, or we were destined to part. Lolita tried but was just not brought to life in an era where women could always decide the trajectory of their lives. She, and Nabokov with his seductive language, tried to tell us, though. Lolita has cost me three husbands who wanted me to be like she was in the end, complacent. unquestioning, and relieved that her ordeal was over at 18. But I pressed on beyond what Lolita settled for. My fourth husband is everything I always wanted, a mix of James Bond, Nick Charles, and Jim Hawkins, with a compelling dose of Humbert. I make my own choices, and he doesn't mind when I act like I'm 10.

Challenge
6

About the Creator

Lacy Loar-Gruenler

Lacy Loar-Gruenler worked for a decade as a newspaper journalist and editor. In March 2023, she completed an MFA in Creative Writing and Literature at Harvard University.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insight

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (8)

Sign in to comment
  • Novel Allen2 months ago

    I too loved to read. I read a lot of those that you mentioned, I am just not sure if any of them impacted me more than the other. I should think hard about that. Maybe one did. Great story.

  • Catherine Dorian2 months ago

    Ah, the irony of your father tearing your copy of Tean Confessional in two and commanding you to stick to library books! Such an eloquent, concise piece about how reading Lolita impacted you. I had an exceptional professor at Montana State who compelled us to think about how Lolita is meant to mirror the ways in which society conditions young girls to want romance. Humbert is the sociopathic embodiment of the cultural forces that sexualize innocence and destroy girls in the process. I love your ending, of course, too. Reading Lolita didn't damage you; reading Lolita taught you to think about choices. And you've made the right ones, which have led you to the man who truly loves you now.

  • Babs Iverson4 months ago

    Love the description of your 4th husband!!! Fantastic story, Lacy!!! 💕❤️❤️ Interesting how books influence our lives!

  • Raymond G. Taylor8 months ago

    Interesting take on Lolita and even more so a slice of your own life and Nabakov's role in it. What struck me about the the MC was (1) he did not spare himself in the narration (describing himself as a pervert for instance) and (2) how he reflected what I understand about male sexual offenders in that he was a failure... as a man, as a murderer (the first one - L's mom died before he could murder her) and ultimately failed as a father-protector. The only successful thing he did was to kill another pervert, at the expense of his own life. Then only out of a kind of jealous rage. I am glad you found your forever non-Humbert. Thanks for sharing.

  • Rene Volpi 9 months ago

    Lovely post. Interesting enough, like you, I also wrote a story related to a "Lolita character" and another one about Hemingway. Let me know if you're interested in reading them.

  • I have known "Lolitas," though I never read the book that has long been on my To Read list. Your writing will serve as the prologue for my reading of it. One of my favorite passages that you wrote is, "Lolita has cost me three husbands who wanted me to be like she was in the end, complacent. unquestioning, and relieved that her ordeal was over at 18. But I pressed on beyond what Lolita settled for." This touched me. Bravo, Lacy!

  • Naomi Gold9 months ago

    What an interesting take! This book changed my life, but I don’t think Vocal is the platform for that story. I read it in my 30’s. It triggered me because of my history of childhood sexual abuse. It also made me realize I was not okay, and that I was married to a man as controlling and manipulative as Humbert Humbert. It helped me escape that marriage. I love that you read it at such a young and impressionable age, yet it empowered you as an adult. It could’ve gone badly if you romanticized that relationship too much—which grown women have done! Some of the reviews of this book I’ve seen published in magazines make me sick to my stomach. LOL @ your dad being upset by the Michael Landon mag. I loved those teen magazines with heartthrobs, but mine were always age appropriate. Macaulay Culkin and Jonathan Taylor Thomas. 😄

  • Kendall Defoe 9 months ago

    I read it once, as an adult, and that was enough for me. But ten years old...? Why don't you hate my gender after such an experience?

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.