BookClub logo

My 3(and a half) Reading Goals for the Year

How much do I want to read in 2024

By Terri AllenPublished 4 months ago 3 min read
5

To start off with a very honest answer I want to read 100 books.

Why? Because why not?

I believe that I can do it, it’s only eight and a bit books a month and I’ve already read six books by the time I’m writing this. I have a strong capability to read books really fast and so I thought I’d give myself a few additional challenges to make the task harder than it needs to be.

Why? Well.. I love making things difficult for myself.

So I’m going to talk through the three ways I have made this writing challenge harder for myself and how I am going to enjoy every single second of my year with books.

1 - I want to read all/most of my TBR

For those of you who don’t know TBR stands for to be read list. Last year I made a TBR jar which contained all of my books, including the ones I have read multiple times already and my newer books which I haven’t got round to yet.

I thought this idea was cute until I realised that I was mostly pulling out books that I had read in the past. So, I just decided to scrap the jar and read the books in which ones I hadn’t read before first.

So I’ve started in the A’s then I’ll go to the B’s and hopefully by the end of the year I will have read all of my untouched TBR books.

2- Finish multiple book series

I have a few book series that I haven’t really touched upon before such as; Percy Jackson (where I have only read the first book), The Wheel of Time (where I’ve read up to the fourth book) and Red Rising (which I haven’t read at all yet).

When I first brought these books home I was determined to read them all then and there. But with each of them I either started and never finished or I gave up or never started at all.

It makes me sad because I hear so many good things about these series but it seems like a whole chunk of my time will be spent to get through the one single world of these stories and not dabble in other fictional worlds.

So despite wanting to read these books I just got so enticed by other books that I would get a momentary lapse where I’d pick up another book and completely forget I was right in the middle of a series.

My plan to overcome this is to dabble where I can with the series, if I can finish them in one go that’s fine but if I need to go away and come back to the next book a month after finishing the first then that’s fine too.

3 - Friendly competition

My friend from work is doing a competition with her family to read the most books in a year and unfortunately I wasn’t allowed to join because she said to me that “I’d definitely win”.

Completely understand, doubt it though because she reads a lot too. However, even if I did join the competition and win I wouldn’t be able to accept the prize (whoever wins everyone has to buy them a book and the amount of books you get as a prize depends on how many books you read over everyone else). Very cute, I love it to death, I wish my family would read more so I could do this with them.

So I made my own competition with her instead. She said if I read 100 books in the year that she’d buy me a book. I probably still won’t accept the prize but now I feel like I have to prove myself and read 100 books or more this year.

As a reader who enjoys reading so much I like to set myself little challenges like this to encourage and reward myself.

You may be asking yourself what is my own personal reward for myself if I complete this challenge? Let me tell you.

I get to buy new books!

Reading ChallengeDiscussionChallengeBook of the YearBook of the WeekBook of the MonthBook of the DayAnalysis
5

About the Creator

Terri Allen

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Maureen Y. Palmer3 months ago

    These seem like great goals! :) How many unread TBR books do you have? I don't think there's any way I could finish all of mine in one year! (I have 109 and a lot are quite long and/or dense).

  • Novel Allen4 months ago

    I wish my family liked to read. I am basically on my own, technology, sigh. I go crazy if i don't finish a book. I promised myself to read more this year too, so I am with you on that. Good luck.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.