BookClub logo

Mara, Daughter of the Nile

Friends Through Books

By Lydia StewartPublished 8 months ago 2 min read
Runner-Up in Book Club Challenge
5
Mara, Daughter of the Nile
Photo by Flying Carpet on Unsplash

I came flying out of a back alley in Egypt, close to Mara's heels. Time was running short and everything was falling to pieces. I was expecting someone to jump out at us from every corner, and so was she. When she was blacking out on a palace floor, half dead, I was screaming silently from the shadows.

But that's what a good book does, right?

I was one of those kids who left the library with a paper grocery sack full of books; so did my mom, and so did my brother. We lugged our books home along with the celery, canned pizza sauce, and potatoes. After the groceries were put away, we hoarded books until we'd read them and then traded.

In those days, I read indiscriminately. Perhaps preferences came as I discovered that some books had power over me that others didn't have. I pulled Mara, Daughter of the Nile by Eloise Jarvis McGraw off the shelf because I was an Egyptophile from the moment I discovered Egypt; I didn't know I was forming a link that would connect me to a friend years later.

Mara was scary and breathtaking and made me squirm and cry and gasp. I think I read it twice before returning it. A slave girl in ancient Egypt, Mara had black hair and blue eyes. Her mixed heritage, likely Greek-Egyptian, ensured her lower class. Her intelligence and theft got her mixed up in a power struggle and ultimately changed her life. Unbeknownst to me, another kid across the country was reading the same book and gasping and crying and running through back allies after Mara.

In 2005, I moved across the country to go to college, where I met a tiny girl who didn't break 100 lbs but who carried a messenger bag that weighed very nearly half her weight. One of the classes we took together was a playwriting course, and one of the assignments was adaptation. She was especially endeared to me the moment she raised her hand and informed the class that she wanted to adapt a book called, Mara, Daughter of the Nile. "You've read that?!" I asked her after class--because everyone who has ever read a good book has had the impression that they alone have found this treasure.

Mara turned out to be hard to adapt, what with the scenes taking place all over Egypt and Mara nearly dying in the aforementioned palace scene. It's one thing to do that on film; it's a little harder to pull off onstage. Our friendship grew over lots of conversations about how to make it happen. I seem to recall that it was ultimately accomplished with some offstage work, but the result ultimately was that whenever I think of Mara, I think of my friend, too, and in my back alley memories of the book, we are running after Mara, screaming in the palace, and sailing down the Nile and hoping for the best, together.

Challenge
5

About the Creator

Lydia Stewart

Lydia is a freelance copywriter and playwright, watercolorist and gardener living in Michigan. She loves to collaborate with writer friends, one of whom she married. Her inspirations come from all of these interests and relationships.

Reader insights

Good effort

You have potential. Keep practicing and don’t give up!

Top insights

  1. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  2. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (4)

Sign in to comment
  • Christian Lee7 months ago

    I like this story. I was hoping for more. It's also well-written. Clearly, you're a sensitive, attentive, and endearing writer.

  • Joe Luca7 months ago

    God books, good friends, good memories. Does it get any better than this?😊

  • Test7 months ago

    I loved this! Th opening was riveting. I love egypt and anything related so will try to hunt this one down! Brilliantly written! 🤍

  • Babs Iverson7 months ago

    Fabulous story!!! Congratulations on the win!!!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.