BookClub logo

Heaven's Sister

Chương 1

By QuangPublished 12 days ago 5 min read

After running away from home for five days, I finally returned because I heard that my grandmother was searching for me with a cane. My eyes couldn't see the road, my ears were deaf, and I screamed my name throughout the village as I walked. Just hearing my friend talk about it, I didn't have the courage to stay in his duck hut for another day. I was a little afraid, but I loved my grandmother a lot. She had raised me since I was young, and she loved me the most.It was the first time in my life that I left home for a reason unlike anyone else. My father had married another woman after more than 10 years of raising me. She was a woman from Hue who sold Banh Beo Loc Nam at the district market. She had met my father when he came to administer medicine for her pigs (my father is a veterinarian, so it's not cool to call him a "pig doctor"). If you have any qualifications, people will always call you a "pig doctor."After that, she often came to my house because it was near the market. She would stop by when she went to sell things, and sometimes she bought me gifts. At first, I liked it very much, and I accepted whatever she gave me. But when I found out that my father was going to marry her, I rejected everything. I even left the house and didn't bother to say hello to her like before. One day, just before the wedding, I decided to leave. Everyone was so busy that no one seemed to pay attention to me, which ruined their plans. Their wedding fell apart.After the wedding, people started looking for me. When I got home, no one dared to say anything. They said I had run away and that now I was very powerful, and everyone was afraid of me because I dared to run away from home. Thinking like that, I didn't even bother to greet anyone. I went down to the kitchen to get some rice and then brought it to the garden to sit on a fallen tree and eat. I became more sulky, sometimes not answering when she called me. I never once called her "mom." I deliberately opposed her and felt annoyed with my stepmother, even though she hadn't done anything to me. One time, I overheard her telling my father that she loved me like her own child, and slowly she would win my sympathy. But don't dream of fooling me, "For generations, stepmothers have loved their husband's children as their own." I had memorized this sentence for a long time, and I dared her to try it! Just like that, five months passed, and she still slowly approached and pleased me, but I became even more stubborn. Sometimes I even said mean things to her. My father was originally as gentle as a piece of wood. He had a missing leg, and he never hit me. So I was able to take advantage even more. Then one day, she brought a girl home. She was dark-skinned, with fiery red hair, and her clothes were simple. She was definitely a country girl because only country girls have braids on both sides and puffy sleeves, as the girls in my class said. She bowed to me, looking scared because I was glaring at her. My father said she was my "mother's" stepchild, and she had been living in the countryside with her grandmother. Since she hadn't finished the semester yet, she could now move in with us. He told me to take care of her studies from now on. I didn't bother saying anything; I stopped playing football. I had no siblings of my own, and it was clear that I was in trouble.Since she came, I became even more upset. She would wander around, bumping into things and looking at everything. "What?" I asked, picking something up and shaking it as if I were seeing it for the first time. When I asked her to iron her clothes, she was so clueless that she burned her school shirt because she didn't know how to adjust the temperature. When I asked her to copy my homework, she would copy it all over the margins of her notebook (later I found out that every notebook was the same, with notes overflowing onto the margins). Even when it came to turning on the TV, she didn't know how to do it, even though it was a piece of cake. I angrily cursed at her, "Have you never watched TV before?" She blushed and said her grandmother also had a TV, but it only had sound, no images. At first, I thought her hair was dyed, but when I asked her, she said it was from being in the countryside, tending to cows and wading in the fields a lot, which caused it to get sunburned. Hearing that, I burst out laughing.She was two grades behind me in school. I was in 8th grade, and she was in 6th grade.I continued to observe her closely, mocking her whenever I had the chance. But as days turned into weeks, something began to change within me. I started noticing her determination and resilience despite her lack of knowledge and skills. She never gave up, even when faced with my constant criticisms and taunts. Instead, she would try her best to learn and improve.One day, I caught her studying late into the night, struggling with a math problem. I couldn't help but feel a twinge of sympathy. I approached her and reluctantly offered my help, thinking I could easily solve it and prove my superiority. However, as I sat down and examined the problem, I realized it was more challenging than I had anticipated. We ended up working on it together, exchanging ideas and attempting various approaches. Surprisingly, her unique perspective and unconventional thinking helped us solve the problem in the end.From that moment on, we started studying together regularly. I began to see her not as a burden, but as someone who had the potential to be a good friend and study partner. We would discuss different subjects, share knowledge, and support each other in our academic pursuits.As time went on, I discovered that she had a genuine love for nature and a deep understanding of traditional agricultural practices. She would often share stories about her life in the countryside, teaching me about the importance of sustainable farming and the harmony between humans and the environment. Her passion and knowledge fascinated me, opening my eyes to a world beyond textbooks and exams.Gradually, my animosity towards her transformed into admiration and respect. I realized that she possessed qualities I had never seen in anyone else – humility, resilience, and an unwavering spirit. She didn't let my initial hostility deter her from pursuing her education and integrating into our family.As the years passed, we grew closer, forming a bond that transcended our initial differences. I learned to appreciate her unique perspective and the wisdom she gained from her rural upbringing. Together, we navigated the challenges of school, supported each other during difficult times, and celebrated our achievements as a team.Looking back, I'm grateful for the presence of my stepmother's stepchild in my life. She taught me valuable lessons about empathy, acceptance, and the power of genuine connections. Our journey together not only improved my academic performance but also transformed me into a more compassionate and understanding person.Sometimes, it takes unexpected encounters and unlikely friendships to help us grow and change for the better. I'm glad I had the opportunity to experience such a transformation, all because of a girl with fiery red hair and a determined spirit.

Reading List

About the Creator

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    QWritten by Quang

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.