BookClub logo

Fourth Wing

A Review

By Ada ZubaPublished 3 months ago Updated 3 months ago 3 min read
Like
Fourth Wing
Photo by Guido Jansen on Unsplash

It's been a while since I have been able to sit down and read a book. Finally, when the opportunity presented itself, I convinced myself to buy the book Fourth Wing. Why? Well, everyone was talking about it. It had dragons in it and all the reviews were just raving how good the book was and I had a bit of fear entering my body because "Twilight" was also well liked by readers. After reading the first sentence of that book, I said "is that even a sentence?" out loud and I put it down and never touched it again. Most fantasy books have a lot of unneeded jargon in my opinion, so here I thought I would have the same situation. I started reading it and so far the sentences were making sense. I think what I liked most about the beginning is that it covered no details on the language used like "threshing" I had no idea what that was, but as I read on, I learned more and more about this world where humans bond to their dragons. The complexity of each character is well outlined and defined, which I lack in my writing. I appreciate how much thought was put into each character. From Violet to Xaden, Dain and Rhiannon they have differences in them and have their own fears and personal lives that are mentioned. Each character even minor have a lot of depth to them, which is rare to see. Next, each chapter has a fun fact about the world of Navarre and other regions as well.

Instead of the character Violet explaining everything and how it all works, you learn over time exactly what "Threshing" is what "Presentation Day" is, and I absolutely love that about this book series so far. As a reader I love being dumped in the middle of a world, where I have little to no knowledge and I learn more as I read on. Rebecca Yarros makes this world alive, and it makes the reader curious about everything. For example, later in the book you learn that not only the bond between dragon and human happens, but that humans then have a power or "signet" that happens when they bond with that specific dragon, which makes the book even more unique. The fantasy world is very well thought out.

Then, of course it would not be a good novel without the romance trope of a love triangle because who does not love a good love triangle, of course there is the good guy, which everyone thinks she should be with and then there is the typical bad guy, except for the fact that throughout most of the book he is known for wanting to kill Violet, but we all know how this story goes...at least I think I know where it is going, just given how Violet's feelings are put on the page.

Rumors are that there will be television show and I swear, if Violet is not a petite woman, I will be very disappointed. Xaden better be hot and good-looking, While Dain better be someone who is handsome, but not too good-looking. Anyways, that's off topic though.

It has been a while since I felt so alive after a reading a book, I am so glad I picked it up and started to read it. I highly recommend reading it. it is one of the best books that I have read in a while and a while being around 4 years. This is of course leaving out the books that I do re-read and I might want to have physical copies rather than on my e reader. I have not finished it quite yet, but once the weekend comes, I might be on the second book.

Thanks for reading and feel free to subscribe to me. If not, that's okay too. Happy reading. Buy it by clicking link below:

Yes Amazon pays me commission but with no fee to you!!

ReviewFiction
Like

About the Creator

Ada Zuba

Hello fellow interweb explorers! I am Ada Zuba. I binge the Netflix shows and just recently Disney plus has been my happy place. I am a creative person with a big love for Disney movies. I hope to one day write and publish a fantasy novel.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.