BookClub logo

Book Review: Sorrow’s Forest by Kaitlin Corvus

15th place winner of the Book Bloggers' Novel of the Year Award 2023

By Marie SinadjanPublished 3 months ago 3 min read
2

Sorrow’s Forest teems with beasts, some ugly, some beautiful, all unnatural. A ban restricts travel beneath her branches, existing for as long as Lakeview Township has, and most who disobey do not return.

To win a bet, twelve-year-old Mackie King enters the forest, and in its depths, he discovers a boy-like devil. Then he steals him from the trees.

In as little as an hour, the devil names himself Blue and fits seamlessly into the Kings’ life. No one seems to remember he wasn’t always there. Only Mackie knows the truth.

Now, Mackie and Blue are grown, Queen Sorrow has awakened, and she wants her devil back. She’s willing to tear the town apart to reclaim him. Mackie has always been resourceful, but it will take every bit of ingenuity he and Blue possess to thwart Queen Sorrow and her minions, save the town, and free themselves from the shadow of the bittering forest.

GENRE: LGBTQ+ New Adult Fantasy/Horror

PURCHASE LINKS: Amazon

ABOUT THE AUTHOR: Kaitlin Corvus is from Ontario, Canada. The north holds the best part of her. She writes about nobodies, monsters, and gutter glitter, loves the stars, the deep dark sea, and a good horror mystery.

Review

Scary forests that may have lives of their own have already been done before, but Sorrow's Forest had twists that I truly enjoyed! I'm also still wrecked by the ending. HOW DARE IT STAB ME IN THE FEELS.

Third person present is not a POV I'm accustomed to seeing, and while I was worried at first, it worked very well especially in keeping the tension high. The prose is crisp and very easy to get through. (I'm one of those readers who don't like the wordiness and apparent seriousness of "adult fantasy," which is particularly common in epic fantasy. That "books that read like YA" discourse lately? I'm in that camp. Give me fast paced stories with accessible worldbuilding and feels and great characters who still make dumb choices—and Sorrow's Forest has all that!)

That said, I LOVE the characters. Blue is delightfully and unapologetically queer, and Mackie's the protagonist you really want to root for. Even the side characters were interesting, down to the devils in the forest and Queen Sorrow herself. I loved the variety of the creatures, too!

My Rating: ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️️⭐️️

About BBNYA

Book Bloggers' Novel of the Year Award is a yearly competition where book bloggers from all over the world read and score books written by indie authors, ending with 15 finalists and one overall winner.

For more information about BBNYA, check out the BBNYA website or take a peek over on Twitter. BBNYA is brought to you in association with The Folio Society (if you love beautiful books, you NEED to check out their website!) and the book blogger support group The Write Reads.

---

Hi! I'm Marie, a Filipino fantasy author and book reviewer currently based in the UK. I’m the co-author of The Prophecies of Ragnarok, a Norse myth new adult urban fantasy trilogy, and I also have several short stories published in anthologies and literary journals.

You can find more info about me and my books, and also subscribe to my newsletter for more content, here. And if you like what I do, please also consider supporting me on Ko-fi! 🩷 https://ko-fi.com/mariesinadjan

Also check out my upcoming release, Among Thorns and Stardust

What if Snow White lived in a virtual world where the lines of reality are too blurred? What if Cinderella's ugly step-sister was half made of metal and springs? What if Sleeping Beauty slipped into a hundred years of cryo sleep?

Seven authors join forces to reimagine your favorite fairy tales as new sci-fi adventures filled with space, tech, magic, charm, and of course: happily ever afters.

ReviewRecommendationReading ListGenreFiction
2

About the Creator

Marie Sinadjan

Filipino spec fic author and book reviewer based in the UK. https://linktr.ee/mariesinadjan • www.mariesinadjan.com

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Brin J.3 months ago

    This was a great review, and I agree with you on the third-person POV, I tend to steer clear of those stories because I feel like it has too much disconnect from the MC. BUT I have read some when that didn't happen, a rare few.

  • Alex H Mittelman 3 months ago

    You talked me into it! I’m getting this book!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.