BookClub logo

Book Review: In the Lives of Puppets by T.J. Klune

A charming and thought-provoking queer scifi reimagining

By Marie SinadjanPublished 19 days ago 3 min read
1

In a strange little home built into the branches of a grove of trees, live three robots—fatherly inventor android Giovanni Lawson, a pleasantly sadistic nurse machine, and a small vacuum desperate for love and attention. Victor Lawson, a human, lives there too. They’re a family, hidden and safe.

The day Vic salvages and repairs an unfamiliar android labelled “HAP,” he learns of a shared dark past between Hap and Gio–a past spent hunting humans.

When Hap unwittingly alerts robots from Gio’s former life to their whereabouts, the family is no longer hidden and safe. Gio is captured and taken back to his old laboratory in the City of Electric Dreams. So together, the rest of Vic’s assembled family must journey across an unforgiving and otherworldly country to rescue Gio from decommission, or worse, reprogramming.

Along the way to save Gio, amid conflicted feelings of betrayal and affection for Hap, Vic must decide for himself: Can he accept love with strings attached?

GENRE: Queer Science Fiction Retelling

PURCHASE LINK: Amazon

ABOUT THE AUTHOR: TJ KLUNE is the New York Times and USA Today bestselling, Lambda Literary Award-winning author of The House in the Cerulean Sea, The Extraordinaries, and more. Being queer himself, Klune believes it's important—now more than ever—to have accurate, positive queer representation in stories.

Review

I really really love this book! I went into this having just released an anthology of scifi fairytale retellings (I wrote a cyberpunk take on Snow White) so I was very much in the mood for futuristic spins to classic tales. This one was just fantastic. It was very creative, with many unexpected twists.

The writing is great — the kind I hope my writing would eventually be! The prose is immersive, the worldbuilding detailed without being overwhelming, and the dialogue delightful. There are so many gems all throughout the book, but this one in particular stood out to me: Death has its usefulness to the living. The moment you were born, you began to die. You are finite. Your time is already slipping through your fingers. It creates an urgency within you. To do all that you can. To make things right.

Really makes you stop and think, huh? I haven't felt this way since the conclusion of the TimeRiders series by Alex Scarrow.

And the characters. Goodness me, the characters! Nurse Ratched and Rambo are a riot, I just can't with them 🤣 I laughed out loud so many times and I don't remember doing that over a book for a while now. And while I'm not queer and thus I can't comment on the accuracy of the portrayal, I appreciated the insights into asexuality.

I also enjoyed the bonus story, Reduce! Reuse! Recycle! That was quite thought-provoking too.

My Rating: ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️️⭐️️

---

Now it would be in bad faith for me not to include in this post what my friend shared with me about the author after she found out that I've read one of his books. You can read the full post on Instagram (it's written by an indigenous queer reader) and research some more on the topic for yourself.

---

Hi! I'm Marie, a Filipino SFFH author and book reviewer currently based in the UK. I’m the co-author of The Prophecies of Ragnarok, a Norse myth new adult urban fantasy trilogy, and I also have several short stories published in anthologies and literary journals.

You can find more info about me and my books, and also subscribe to my newsletter for more content, here. And if you like what I do, please also consider supporting me on Ko-fi! 🩷 https://ko-fi.com/mariesinadjan

Also check out my latest release, Among Thorns and Stardust, an anthology of sci-fi fairytale retellings

Cover by Luisa Galstyan. Graphic by Dawn Christine Jonckowski.

RecommendationReviewGenreFiction
1

About the Creator

Marie Sinadjan

Filipino spec fic author and book reviewer based in the UK. https://linktr.ee/mariesinadjan • www.mariesinadjan.com

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Alex H Mittelman 19 days ago

    OMG I literally just got this book! I’m excited to start reading it! ♥️❤️

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.