BookClub logo

Book Clubs I Have Not Joined

I started to join, I just wasn't good at the follow-through.

By Denise E LindquistPublished 9 months ago 3 min read
2
Book Clubs I Have Not Joined
Photo by Sincerely Media on Unsplash

Is this what book clubs look like I think to myself as I look at pictures of book clubs. I know there is an Oprah book club with suggestions about what to read. But then I think about how I never have trouble knowing what I wish to read.

Then there are AARP and senior book clubs. Also women's book clubs and poetry book clubs. I think the AARP club is online. I almost joined a local club, well I signed up and got the information for about a year. There was always a conflict as to when and where they were meeting.

I bought the book that they started with and then didn't read it. I thought I had to read it before I attended a meeting. Some say yes, and some say no. The meeting was to discuss the book after all. And I had a month to read it. I never did read it.

Some things have no interest to me. Starting a food cooperative sounded like it would be something I don't want to do. I want others to do it. This town needs a food cooperative. I have been a member for years now. No food cooperative.

Maybe others feel the same way I do and that is why none exists. Maybe, the book club was a gimmick to get others involved and doing the work to get the coop going. It would have been better to say that up front if that was the reason.

The person that said I didn't have to read the book stated that everyone has things that come up from time to time. Come anyway. What came up for me was that I was reading another more interesting book. That book group was specific to the food cooperative.

Maybe I would join a Dr. Suess book club or a comic book club. A poetry book club? I read poetry all of the time on Vocal. I like the diversity and varied formats. I am not sure I want to read the same poet all month. Well, maybe as there are some very good poets.

I do own poetry books. I know that I didn't read the entire book. I have my favorites and I will go back to the book and pull out a favorite. I have used those favorites in classes I have taught. I have even asked counseling students to purchase one book of poetry.

I am teaching a writing class in a neighboring town. I was asked and agreed as it was three Monday afternoons for a couple or three hours. It hasn't been finalized yet. I am retired and try to keep my Mondays open after the big weekends.

I was just laughing with my husband as it is Friday and were staying home. Out of the blue now, he wants to go to Oppenheimer. Maybe because I insinuated he is boring? It wasn't about him. We do stay busy during the week and it is nice to stay home some weekends and not have plans.

I don't know if you missed the above, my teaching writing and poetry is a laugh. I agreed though. The gallery has a Native American section that invites Native American artists to do their thing. I have sold a couple of books there before as a fundraising item for a cancer foundation.

They must think I know what I am doing. I sure hope there are amateurs there.

The plan is to make small books, maybe chapbooks. The gallery could sell them for us. What a great idea! We could write a book together with all the poetry writing we do in two weeks.

And we could make a book of all the short stories we write in that time also! This would be a book club I might join. Who am I kidding, I probably wouldn't join that book club either! I guess we will see.

Stay tuned for more on book clubs!

ReviewDiscussionChallenge
2

About the Creator

Denise E Lindquist

I am married with 7 children, 27 grands, and 12 great-grandchildren. I am a culture consultant part-time. I write A Poem a Day in February for 8 years now. I wrote 4 - 50,000 word stories in NaNoWriMo. I write on Vocal/Medium weekly.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Razib Paul3 months ago

    Have you ever stumbled upon a book club that perfectly aligns with your eclectic tastes and offers a delightful reading experience?

  • Lol, I wouldn't join a bookclub either. I'm very picky with what I read and I mostly only read horror or thrillers. So I for sure wouldn't wanna read anything other than that if the bookclub picked it! 🤣🤣🤣

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.