BookClub logo

A Brief Thought: Brave New World

A few thoughts on a book that helped broaden my worldview

By Jaye Ruggiero-CashPublished 9 months ago Updated 8 months ago 2 min read
3

Reading Brave New World felt like waking up.

It’s one of those stories that, despite being fiction, reflects reality on a scary accurate level.

I first read Brave New World in 2012 when I was a senior year in high school. And as an 18-year-old girl on the verge of entering the real world, it was sort of an introduction to it. A jarring, but eye opening one.

I felt so many emotions while reading this book. On one hand, I was fascinated by certain ways that it parallels our society. There are pieces of technology mentioned in the book that we have in real life today, like artificial insemination (test tube babies), birth control (pregnancy substitute), and even helicopters.

Also, I love that the title comes from a line of Shakespeare that’s quoted in the book:

"O wonder!

How many goodly creatures are there here!

How beauteous mankind is! O brave new world,

That has such people in't."

- The Tempest, Act V Scene I

But on the other hand, I realized that other aspects of the story depict more alarming parts of our society, like the use of state-enforced drugs (Soma), the controlling of media and art, and hookup culture.

The story is a prime illustration of a dystopian society, and how, over time, America has been leading itself down a path to becoming exactly that. The World State (the “utopian” society in the book) uses their array of advanced technology and so-called intelligence to make themselves seem like the utopia, this perfect happy place. And at the same time, it uses those same things to make the other places mentioned in the story seem like dystopias, and horrible places. But to the reader, all these efforts by the World State just show how dysfunctional and disconnected from reality they are.

Even at 18 years old, the extreme indoctrination, shallow ways of thinking, and overall lack of human connection jumped out at me, and even scared me. And I’m continually reminded of it as I get older, because we’re basically living that same experience now.

I think on a certain level, I knew that this story was a pretty accurate depiction of the world; the parallels to real life were crystal clear, even then. But it was still hard for me to ultimately accept. I didn’t want to believe that the world we live in could actually be like this. Who would?

But therein lies the point of the story.

We try so hard to avoid the discomfort and messiness of life and the human experience. But in doing so, we close ourselves off from the good parts of life. Joy, love, connection, creativity. All the things that make life worth living.

Robin Williams said it best!

We’re left with an empty existence, where art has no substance and love is practically nonexistent. And that’s not kind of life I want to live.

I like to think that Brave New World has helped me develop a greater understanding or awareness of the world. It’s one of those books that I think about often, and it reminds me to keep my mind open, to always strive for truth and authenticity, and to never lose sight of humanity, no matter how uncomfortable it may be sometimes.

Thanks so much for reading! If you enjoyed this story, I’d appreciate it so much if you shared it and left a heart, a tip, and a pledge!

ReviewRecommendationFictionDiscussionChallenge
3

About the Creator

Jaye Ruggiero-Cash

Writer | Poet | Musician | Actor | Model

Lover of all things arts & humanities

Gluten-Free Foodie

"When we are shaped by the sounds and shades of truth, the colors never fade."

Join Vocal+ with my link

Follow Me!

Instagram

TikTok

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Test6 months ago

    It was really interesting to read you thoughts on the book. I read it a long time a go so may have to re read but I remember feeling very disconcerted by it. Really well written and insightful 🤍

  • Caroline Jane6 months ago

    I really wish I had read this book when I was younger. This is a great review Jess. 🥰

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.