BookClub logo

A Book For The Better

How "The Graveyard Book" left an indelible mark

By Kurt MasonPublished 9 months ago 3 min read
1
A Book For The Better
Photo by Aaron Burden on Unsplash

When I saw this challenge appear, I thought that it was going to be a breeze. Talk about a book that changed me. Easy. All I had to do was pick one of the countless books that I’ve read and write about it. But it wasn’t a breeze. As it turns out, thinking about the powerful impact of books isn’t something that comes easily when you really put your mind to it. Sure, thinking of book titles was easy enough, but none of them seemed to really ignite that spark within me that truly represented growth and change. However, there was one book that kept coming to mind more than any other, and that book was Neil Gaiman’s, “The Graveyard Book.” I devoured that book. I read the entire thing in two sittings and I was hungry for more.

I came across “The Graveyard Book” because it was part of the required readings for one of my master’s degree classes, but it quickly rocketed to the top of my favorites list (I even used it as a cornerstone text in my master’s thesis). What made me fall in love with this book quickly was the way that it effortlessly brought all of my favorite elements together into a compelling narrative that still rang with the spirit of a true young adult novel. With adventure, danger, mystery, and more, this book had something new with every chapter.

This became a popular book in my classroom as well. I used this book as my book talk choice when we did our classroom share, and I had multiple students end up checking it out of the classroom library and loving it. There is a relatability to the main character–Nobody (Bod) Owens–that mirrors certain aspects of adolescence and growing up that just seem to pull on your heartstrings.

For anyone who hasn’t read “The Graveyard Book,” it tells the story of Nobody (Bod) Owens, a young boy who narrowly escapes a brutal massacre as an infant only to be raised by the spirits at the local graveyard. As Bod grows up, he begins to struggle with identity, his humanity, and his relationship to the dead vs. the living. As Bod navigates his internal struggles, he soon comes to realize that the world is much more complex than it appears and he is forced to fight for his life, and lives of those he loves. Ultimately, Bod is faced with the decision that we all must make: how do I leave the only home I’ve known and begin my own life?

I like this book because it was complex, yet jovial; profound, yet humorous; serious, yet heartwarming. The was enough juxtaposition to provide a compelling window into the complexities of adolescence and what it means to transition from childhood into adulthood.

I wouldn’t hesitate to recommend this book to anyone! There are also fun illustrations throughout that add an interesting visual element to the narrative. This book is also available as a graphic novel as well, so it can be more accessible to younger readers or struggling readers–or anyone who loves the beauty and craftsmanship of graphic novels.

RecommendationReading ChallengeFictionChallenge
1

About the Creator

Kurt Mason

Teacher • Writer • Reader

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Rachel Deeming4 days ago

    Neil Gaiman always writes unique books: imaginative, sometimes verging on the surreal but encompassing human themes. This sounds familiar to me but I'm not sure if I've read it or not! Loved your review though and if you read it twice, it must be a keeper!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.