Blush logo

Your first crush

Love in the air

By GhazalPublished about a year ago 3 min read
Like
Your first crush
Photo by Michael Fenton on Unsplash

When I was 12 years old, I had my first crush. Her name was Maria, and she was one of the new girls in our school. As soon as I saw her, I was infatuated. She had long, curly hair that bounced when she walked, and her smile was infectious.

We were assigned as lab partners in science class, and I felt like the luckiest person in the world. We would spend hours working on experiments together, and I would always try to make her laugh. She had a sense of humor that matched mine, and I felt like we had a special connection.

As the days went by, my crush on Maria only grew stronger. I would try to spend as much time with her as possible, even though we didn't have any other classes together. I would find ways to sit by her at lunch and would try to walk her to her next class.

Despite my best efforts, would get nervous around her. My heart would race, and my palms would get clammy whenever she was near. would try to act cool and collected, but knew was failing miserably. was sure she could tell that had a crush on her, even though I never admitted it.

One day, we were paired up to do a presentation for the class. We had to work together to put together a project about the solar system. The idea was to create a scale model of the planets and talk about their unique features. I was so excited to work with Maria, and I knew we would make an excellent team.

We spent hours after school working on the presentation, perfecting every detail. We would argue over which planet was the biggest and which was the most interesting, but the tension never lasted long. We would always end up laughing and joking around, enjoying each other's company.

The day of the presentation finally arrived, and I was a nervous wreck. I had practiced the presentation countless times, but still couldn't shake the butterflies in my stomach. I remember standing in front of the class, my heart pounding, my mouth dry, and my voice trembling.

As Maria and I started the presentation, I noticed that she too looked nervous. tried to steady my voice and comfort her, giving her reassuring glances whenever I could. As we continued to speak, I realized that I was enjoying myself more and more. I wasn't thinking about my crush or how the presentation was going to be done; I was focused on doing an excellent job with Maria.

When we finally finished, the applause from our classmates filled the room. I could see the satisfaction in Maria's eyes, and I realized that she had enjoyed herself as much as did. It was at that moment that I realized my crush on her had grown into something more. I genuinely enjoyed her company and wanted to spend time with her more and more.

After that presentation, Maria and I became inseparable. We would spend hours talking about anything and everything. We would laugh at each other's jokes and share our dreams and aspirations. I never had to pretend with her, and she never judged me for who I was.

As the school year came to an end, I realized that my crush on Maria had transformed into something greater. She was my best friend in the world, and I couldn't imagine life without her. I knew that no matter what happened in the future, our connection would always be special.

I never did tell Maria how I felt about her, and I don't know if she felt the same way. But it didn't matter. Our bond was deeper than any crush or infatuation. It was built on trust, mutual respect, and genuine friendship.

In the years that followed, I had other crushes and other relationships, but none ever compared to my first crush. Maria will always hold a special place in my heart as the person who taught me what it meant to care about someone deeply. She was my first love, and even though we're not in touch anymore, I will always cherish the memories we shared together.

art
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.