Blush logo

Why Hair Is Much More Important Than It Seems

A Small Writing About How the Hair on Your Head Defines You As a Person

By Savana VerretPublished 6 years ago 3 min read
Like

Hair: people usually have a love-hate relationship with it. To some people, it's whatever or a nuisance. Personally, my hair has always been important to me. Since I was a child, I had long hair that extended past my behind. It was like a security blanket. In high school, I would always have my hair down, covering my face when I wanted. It helped me with my insecurities about my acne, and my face in general. It also helped when I felt self-conscious about my body. I would just simply bring my hair to the front, and hide what I didn't want people to see. For school homecomings and proms, my hair curled to perfection, and gave me a boost of confidence. My hair was like my trademark. I was told multiple times that people can identify in a crowd just by looking at my hair. For the longest time, my long locks had meant something to me. It was more of a part of me than just the fact it was on my head.

When I graduated high school, I was much more mature than when I first entered. I had more confidence, a clearer head, and drive. So, when I made the decision to take a leap and cut my hair to just below shoulder length, people were shocked. Even I was surprised at my impulsive decision. I had explained to the hairdresser my story, and how my hair served its purpose. But now, I'm a different person. I've overcome and achieved so much, but who I was in high school stayed behind when I took off my cap and gown. It was like shedding a new skin. And now, to top it all off, I'm sealing the deal by cutting off my hair. She talked to me through the whole process; almost like she was reassuring me. When she told me she was done, I took a deep breath and turned around to face the mirror. I was in love. It framed my face well, and I looked older. My mom was with me, and we both started crying. I literally looked like a different person. My boyfriend (now husband) was floored when I showed him. He loved it just as much as I did. He told me was proud of me for taking the step to change who I was for the better. I actually noticed a difference in my personality after a while. I became more vocal (no pun intended) with my thoughts, and carried myself with a more positive gait. Harsh criticisms slid off my back easier, because I knew anything mean anyone had to say wasn't true. Which, in all honesty, is an amazing feat for me.

Fast forward a few months, and I'm now a married woman! Another new chapter in my life! My life was once again yet changed for the better. I'm happier, I feel lighter, and life is wonderful. Yet when a small, passing thought came through my mind, I couldn't shake it. After a few weeks of being married, I asked my husband how he would feel if I cut my hair again, but shoulder length this go around. He asked me why, and my reason was the same as last time: I'm a new person. I have a need to physically shed my old skin. He told me he'd love me and support me no matter what, and the next day I found myself in a hair salon with my new hubby right at my side. After it was all said and done, I looked in the mirror and instantly felt light. It was something so different, so new. But I loved it.

The gist of all this, is that a haircut can define a person in so many ways. It's a simple thing, but so symbolic. Sometimes, you just have to let go of the old, and embrace the new. Even if it means a salon/barber shop trip.

Thank you.

hair
Like

About the Creator

Savana Verret

Just a small town girl trying to refine her writing. If you like something I post, feel free to tip me! It would really help motivate me to keep writing.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.