Blush logo

What This Tattoo Means to Me

A quick dive into what I was thinking when I got this tattoo.

By Sara CaramellaPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
1

Tattoos have always been a form of therapy to me. Tattoos are a form of art, therapy and show everything that makes you who you are. For me, this is all the same. My tattoos show who I am and what means the most to me. Even the tattoos that seem to mean nothing to you, they mean the absolute world to me.

Harry Potter was not really in my life when I was younger. But the older I have gotten, the more it means to me. I have read the books countless times, watched all the movies and have been obsessed since day one. The words, the story … it all means so much to me. So when I had to choose a small tattoo to get.. I knew exactly what I wanted and needed. Harry Potter got me through the weirdest, hardest and most confusing times in my life. And this tattoo continues to get me through the worst times as well. 9 and ¾ doesn't mean much to others and I still always get questions about what it means. But to me, those numbers are an escape. They are an escape from normal life, an escape from routine and an escape from the trying times. These numbers mean I can make it through anything to something greater. Like Harry Potter leaving the evil Dursley's for Hogwarts. It means I can leave the past behind and move forward with the light behind me.

The placement of tattoos do not mean as much to me as they should. The placement of this tattoo was chosen so that I can see it when I need it. So that it is visible but also can easily be hidden, as you know, tattoos can't always be shown. But I can still see this tattoo when I need it. I can see the numbers and be reminded that it will all be okay. I know this may not make sense to anyone with tattoos, but I feel like it will make so much sense to anyone that has tattoos. We get these when our lives are a mess, we get them where we can see them so they make us feel better.

When I got this tattoo, I was in between things, not sure where I was going, and no idea how to get where I didn't know where I was going. 3 years later .. I am still trying to figure it all out. But aren't we all? Your 20's can be a shit storm and you never really know if you'll figure it out. But as I've mentioned, tattoos sure can help. This tattoo made me realize that no matter where I am, I can always move forward. I can always get through to the other side, no matter what evils or downfalls I may be facing in my life. Being an adult can be messy, growing up can be messy. And all that is so well displayed in Harry Potter. Harry grows up in a tumtuolous household after losing his parents as a baby. Then when he finds out he is a wizard and goes to Hogwarts, it somehow gets worse and better in the same go. To me, that is how being a human really is. Growing up is hard but what is even harder is not owning up to your stuff so you can see the light on the other side.

Tattoos will always mean the world to me. Tattoos are a commitment I can always make and would always like too. Tattoos show what I have been through and where I plan on going. Harry Potter and tattoos are always a good combination for me.

art
1

About the Creator

Sara Caramella

26. Crisis Counselor. Domestic Violence Survivor.

I believe in sharing my story so others know they are never alone.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.