Blush logo

The Wonders of CBD in Skin Care

How CBD Can Transform Your Entire Skin Care Routine

By Michelle GPublished 5 years ago 3 min read
Like

I have been down a very long road when it comes to my skin and acne. For years I have struggled redness and breakouts, oily t-zones, enlarged pores, and all that despite the fact I am at an age now where I feel I shouldn't have to deal with this. For over two years, I have worked for a licensed esthetician who specialized in skin care products and routines. I have tried dozens of products and face masks, both high-end and drug store quality, but I could not find anything that would make a significant difference in my skins appearance, until I tried CBD...

A sales rep came into my work and gave me a sample of three different products from a brand new CBD line she had personally just created. There was a face cleanser, moisturizer, and a serum. I had heard good things before about CBD and people with sensitive skin like me, and I figured I had nothing to lose since I could not find any other products that seemed to be working.

That night I tried the products, starting with the cleanser with water, then the moisturizer, and finishing with the serum. I expected a very earthy smell, but the scent was very mild and present. The next morning I was shocked at the effects from just one application. My pores were half the size with no oily grossness, I had never seen my skin tone so even, and the acne that was pre-existing had shrunk significantly. Icontinued to use the products day and night, and the results were fantastic. I then decided to do some research to see why the CBD made such a noticeable effect.

What does CBD do for the skin?

CBD oil is a great moisturizer and anti inflammatory, it moisturizes without clogging your pores, while balancing out the oil production in your skin, preventing acne from the start. The presence of omega-6 fatty acids calms down irritated skin to prevent breakouts and promote new cell growth.

CBD also helps other inflammatory-related conditions such as skin allergies, rosacea, eczema, and psoriasis. The anti-bacterial and anti-inflammatory properties help to fight reactions that cause redness and scaring.

It’s rich in vitamins A, C, and E. Vitamin A stimulates the cells responsible for keeping skin firm and healthy. Vitamin C stimulates collagen production, and it helps to reduce signs of aging. Vitamin E helps slow down the aging process.

CBD is great for sensitive skin. Multiple studies have shown that there is a very, very low rate of negative reaction due to CBD in skin care products. This makes it great for people who have skin that reacts easily to products with active ingredients.

It also has antioxidant properties that lessen the visible signs of aging. By reducing inflammation and counteracting free-radical damage, CBD anti-aging creams may be able to help visibly diminish issues like wrinkles, skin dullness, and uneven skin tone.

Just like when buying food, it's important to know where your products are coming from. With the boost of popularity in THC and CBD-based products, a lot of extracts are heavily processed, that which can strip away the crucial nutrients in the cannabinoids. Try to look for whole plant extract and free of synthetic materials on the packaging to confirm that you’re using the good stuff.

Best CBD Beauty Products to Try

Here are some of the highest rated CBD skin care products to purchase...

Featuring glycolic, lactic, and salicylic acid, this face wash allows you to get a thorough cleanse and soothe your skin in one easy step.

This moisturizing face cream contains hyaluronic acid, squalene, and capric triglyceride—an emollient derived from coconut oil.

This non-greasy body oil combines hemp with mulberry bark and ginseng to soothe sunburns and skin irritations caused by acne or other skin inflammations.

Minimizing the appearance of fine lines and under eye puffiness with cannabis sativa seed oil and hyaluronic acid to plump and nourish skin.

This seven-product line's night cream combines CBD with other soothing ingredients like aloe vera, vitamin E, and exfoliating willow bark to restore and hydrate skin.

skincare
Like

About the Creator

Michelle G

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.