Blush logo

The Search for Anti-Aging Facial Moisturizers that work!!

The good, the bad and the ugly about aging.

By Kayla YvonnePublished 3 years ago 3 min read
2
The fountain of youth begins with self-care.

I’m a 37 year old female who has begun to notice her skin changing, and by changing, I mean aging. I’ve never really struggled with acne or pimples growing up and recently I’ve begun to have fine lines, and also the occasional break out around my nose.

So I set out on a mission to discover the best affordable anti-aging products for my skin. I thought why not while I was on this journey keep a little memoir of my experience so I could share it here on Vocal for anyone else on this same anti-aging facial moisturizer path! 

So this journey started a year ago when I decided to first try some products by Olay. I went with the cheaper brand, you know the one that’s in the pink box - Oil of Olay Moisturizing Lotion. I did like how it made my skin feel moisturized, but I do admit I wasn’t fond of the scent. I always felt like I was putting a lot of added chemicals to my face when I used it. I do however, recommend it if you don’t mind using a product with a scent, and if hydration is your specific goal. However, for me I didn’t feel satisfied with it, I felt the need to keep searching for something better, something that would wow me.

So onward I went on my search for the “right” facial moisturizer. So on went my search...I decided to stick with the brand Olay but this time purchase a bit more expensive face cream from this brand. This time I bought Olay Regenerist Micro-Sculpting Cream which is formulated with Vitamin B3, Amino Peptides, Hyaluronic Acid and antioxidants. Price is usually around $24.99 and it is a face cream for normal skin, mature skin, designed to visibly start reducing wrinkles and fine lines starting on day 1. I really loved how this particular product made my skin feel while using this cream. It felt instantly hydrated. After a week I noticed less fine lines and more even complexion tones. A major plus for me was that this product was unscented. I don’t know about you but I definitely have never been a fan of face creams that had a scent. Okay, now, what I didn’t love was that I found my skin became very dependent on using this cream. I noticed as soon as I got out of the shower or in the mornings after I washed my face, my skin was instantly dry and when I examined it closely in the mirror I noticed my fine lines seemed to pop out, and my skin looked dehydrated and dull until I massaged this particular cream all over my face and neck. My hope was to find a face cream that made my skin better from the inside out, not something that was going to just be on the surface better. Another con for me was I also didn’t like the mica added in this product which appeared to be like glitter in the product so I always had little flecks of what looked like glitter all over my face. Which for me was a no, no. I admit even with all the dislikes I had about this product, I still really loved how this product made my skin feel and look after applied. So although the Olay products I tried had its pros, I admit it didn’t satisfy my every need in a face cream. Out of the two Olay products I tried, my favorite so far was the Olay Regenerist Micro-Sculpting Cream. 

This was my experience and if you have tried either of these products please leave a comment and let me know how they worked or work for you.

product review
2

About the Creator

Kayla Yvonne

Hello, I am 37 year old who is trying affordable health and beauty products to help ease into aging. Lets discover together what products work best for us!!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.