Blush logo

The Perfect Hair Care Routine

Fine, Straight, Thin Black Hair

By Javeria KhanPublished 4 years ago 4 min read
Like
This is my hair from May 2020! (very recent)

I have always had thin, straight black hair and it's always been a hassle to care for since majority of hair care routines I find are for curly, thick hair. It took me a long time, but I have finally figured out a perfect way for me to take care for my hair. So if you're in the same boat as me, read on! If you like what you read, don't be shy to show your support afterwards :)

So the most transformative step I've discovered is to not wash my hair often and to consistently apply hair oil masks. By this I mean, keep a few days in between washing your hair, and in those days apply any type of hair oil you prefer to the roots/scalp of your hair. I personally use black castor oil or coconut oil. Black castor oil has been sworn by to condition and thicken your hair. I have to say I agree! Coconut oil is a proven moisturizer/conditioner for hair for centuries. If you have thin, fine hair, I highly recommend using these oils.

Coconut oil - You can buy it from anywhere

The brand I use - the darker the better

Besides using hair oils, I have been use baby shampoo (don't need the conditioner due to the oils). I know you're all going, WHAT?! My answer is Yes! Baby shampoo is gentler on the roots and scalp because it contains no sulfates (the detergents that tend to damage your hair). It does not leave my greasy or feeling unclean. It works just the same as adult shampoo. I'll admit it takes a while to lather but the long-term results are worth it.

What I do before/during/after showering has also changed. Before getting into the shower, I comb through my hair so I have less tangles and hair fall afterwards. This means, you do not lose more hair due to brushing out wet tangles. At this point I have my hair oils in, so it makes it easier to brush anyway. Once I'm in the shower, I only shampoo my roots and let the water rinse the shampoo over the rest of my hair. This doesn't ruin your ends and protects essential, natural oils your hair needs. Getting out of the shower, I don't rub dry my hair, instead letting it air dry. While it's wet, I spray in rose water. It helps thicken out my roots while leaving a pleasant smell. You can apply this to the entirety of your hair, not just the roots.

Rose Water - You can make your own or buy it really cheap ($2)

After doing all of that, I let my hair air dry, then comb out my hair upside down (just trust me, it works). My hair always comes out, shiny, thick and smelling good!

Something special I apply to my hair from time to time that acts as a treat is henna. Henna has been applied to hair for centuries and has proven to have reverent qualities for hair growth. I buy henna powder and mix it with water or yogurt (yogurt helps moisturize the hair) until it becomes a paste and let it sit overnight. You can add many things to this mixture, not only yogurt. Some people I know add in lemon juice (for highlights), hair oils, or even egg whites! It's really up to the person and what they want out of the henna mixture. I use it to give my hair some bounce and volume while getting a slight tint look out of it. If you didn't know before, you know now. Henna is a natural dye. Be warned though, it's not a strong one so it will have little affect, if at all, according to the darkness of your hair.

I apply the henna mixture to my entire hair, not just the roots this time. After it's on my hair, I plastic wrap my hair and close it off by wrapping a towel over it. I'll keep this in my hair for hours. The longer it sits in your hair, the better. When I'm satisfied, I'll wash it out according to my normal hair wash routine as I mentioned earlier. Henna is also a natural conditioner like the hair oils, so I still don't apply conditioner in the shower. There's no need. A perk that goes a long with henna masks is the smell. It'll leave your hair smelling absolutely pleasant (as you can see, I'm obsessed with my hair smelling nice).

Henna Powder

This is what I've found that works for me, but that might not work for everyone else. I just know from my personal experience, these things have retained results. My hair use to feel so flat and dead. You can see the results from my photo!

Feel free to add, change, or take out any steps to make it more for you. I'm sure you all have done your own research according to your needs. All being said, I am glad I got this opportunity to share what works for me and my hair.

Hope you all enjoyed reading about my hair care routine!

hair
Like

About the Creator

Javeria Khan

Reading books was always my escape from the world growing up. Now I want to share that feeling with everyone else through my own stories. Some of my content will be personal and some will be creations of my own mind. I hope you all enjoy!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.