Blush logo

The nervous system and it’s original form.

The Stories of Body art at its beginnings.

By Sebastien del Valle Published 3 years ago 6 min read
Like

The nervous system is to have over 7 trillion nerves throughout the human body. One part of the system that is well overlooked and is also considered one of the external regenerating parts of the body is the hair.

Hair is considered throughout several different cultures, traditions, lifestyles and beliefs to be the body’s Antenna.

I’ll start my story with the private undergoing of a military experiment that consisted of native Indians during Vietnam.

US military officials knew native Indians had impeccable tracking skills. They didn’t need a compas, they didn’t need hunting dogs, what they needed was given to them from birth.

The Military went on to recruit several native Indians. Most undergoing the famous military “buzz cut” as the military does to everyone who signs up and literally belongs to them.

After a while the military began to question thier tracking ability as all who received the buzz cut seem to have lost touch with thier ability to navigate. So the military decided to under go a top classified experiment.

If you’ve seen “inglorious bastards” this is around the time when the military knew The human body was more than just the human body and wanted to find it’s secrets of capability.

After the military noticed the lack of navigational skills they took advice from some of the older Indians who believed the chopping of the locks is why and how they lost their touch.

So the military issued that this experiment would consist of a few Indians with thier natural hair and a few Indians with the military buzz cut. The goal was to escape the enemy at all cost.

The military ended up classifying these results till the early 90’s.

What they came to find is that all Indians with buzz cuts ended up captured or “killed”

(It was an experiment so no one died but they would have if the situation was real)

The native Indians who had their original hair all escaped or countered against the enemy and were in a position to kill.

It is said because the hair is an extension of the nervous system that a “presence” can be felt before it is present.

Also In the experiment these men all fell asleep at some point. The military buzz cut Indians never woke up in time and where captured. While the Traditional Indians in their sleep could subconsciously feel an oncoming threat and wake up and secure a place of attack.

The military went on to allow all native Americans to keep there natural locks as they literally held underlying powers that seem to stem from gernerational teachings.

Their body art was their power.

British Colombia

In british colombia a woman’s hair symbolized her virginity. Yoking a young woman by her hair was against the law. For a woman’s hair is her honor and her beauty.

There were two punishments...

1. castration

2. hung or cutting of the mans beard.

In the birtish isles, jewelry and artwork made from hair was to symbolize love or intimacy. How simple and soft hearted it was back then..the jewelry was to be adored for it was made from their beloveds head.

In the 19th century mourning rings were A thing.. jewelry made out of the hair of the deceased and passed out at funerals or used as invitations, book marks, bracelets ect. Same concept though, It was art that belonged to a beloved.

Culture

Several cultures believe long hair is to set them apart from other tribes, other races and other ways of life. Some even paint, wrap, add beads of wood, add wool, add string and other fabrics to set them apart. I use to have serval objects, fabrics and beads in my hair as they were given to me by close friends... I considered them my “tattoos”.

Long hair is said to carry spiritual connection. A big influence of this is the Indians but as well as the Rastafarian culture. Rastas believe no knife or razor should ever touch their “crown” as it was given to them from the most high his Imperial Majesty Haile Selassie I. Most Rastafarians do not allow strangers or even people to touch their dreads as hair contains energy. Touching someone’s hair without permission is a big disrespect as it is what identifys them. Some believe even asking is disrespectful. Honestly Rastas don’t let people touch their hair because it is a way of protecting themselves from someone’s energy they know nothing about.

Some belive a persons spirit is reflected through their hair.

Hair is believed to bring self respect, self esteem and generational blessings and teachings.

Another culture that took full advantage of their body art was African slaves.

They used their hair to escape from plantations and slave owners from what we know as “Corn rows”.

Slaves would often braid the pattern to freedom into the scalp of each other and collaborate an escape route.

More underlying powers... Samson from the bible was said to have incredible strength that came from his hair...

He ended up losing it all when he was deceived and revealed his secret to a woman Named DeLila. The woman had his hair cut and Samson never got his strength till he called upon the lord to push the columns of the colosseum down killing everyone including himself inside as he was being paraded for being captured by the Babylonian authorities.

Cutting

Cutting of hair is only to happen in times of great surrow, significant loss, or life change.

Hair is to never be thrown away but to be burned with sage in the form of a ceremony so the energy and aspirations and transcend into the universe. Throwing hair away is a big self disrespect.

My dad made me cut my hair two times growing up. Around the age of 16 and 17... I wasn’t a bad kid but he would literally let me grow it till I had one little mistake and then he would make me cut it to show his dominance over me. I cried everytime... I was made fun of by the others at the barber shop and I vowed after the second cut to never cut my hair because it was my hair and I was in charge of my crown.

My dad cutting my hair always messed with my head... like why would my dad let me grow it for a year , year and a half then make me cut it over such little misbehaviors. Such confusion such anger as I sat their and watched everyone smile as my body art was dismantled, skattered and thrown away...

My hair means everything to me.. it naturally grows from my scalp and it is my antenna. It is very true in the sense that it acts as a “spidey sense”. There’s been a couple times where I have left the scene and something has gone wrong just minutes after I have left.

Several times I can walk into an atmosphere and completely know what the vibe is.

Having this extended nervous system is a well hidden tradition. Everyone lives for the now... lives for the 6 second “snap” , the new hair cut, But ancient ones live in the stillness of being.

These 12 years I’ve consistently been living in the same feeling. What I mean is having my hair all these years has kept me in the same state of mind. I am that I am. And my body art consist of generational teachings, spiritual connection, aspirations, and self respect.

Body art at its originality.

hair
Like

About the Creator

Sebastien del Valle

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.