Blush logo

The Holy Grail of Skincare

the small review of my favorite products

By Megan GallienPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
2
Wait... is that the Holy Grail I see????

I started experimenting and using beauty products in 2007 when I was a preteen and to be honest never really thought much about a “skin care regime” for the majority of the years since.

I shudder when I remember being in 7/8th grade and putting on SO much foundation and the raccoon look eyeliner. I bought the cheapest makeup I could find and the only real skincare routine I had was using Noxzema Ultimate Clear Anti-Blemish Pads and washing my face with regular bar soap. *face-palm*

Luckily I became more aware of the damage I had been self-inflicting on myself as I entered my 20s and have since found some products that, while they are pricey, definitely are worth the money! Here are some of the skincare products that are a part of my Holy Grail of Beauty.

• belif - Creamy Cleansing Foam Moist

I had never been a fan of creamy cleansers because after using them, I usually felt like they left a residue and made my face oilier. In contrast, when using the belif cleanser, my face felt more rejuvenated and thoroughly[CSD1] washed. Now this is a Korean skincare brand let me say this: they have mastered their beauty products. One of my best friends was one of the first people who told me that Korean products were the only way to go when searching for an excellent product.

• SUNDAY RILEY - C.E.O Vitamin C Rich Hydration Cream

I first received this in an Ipsy subscription box. I was skeptical at first because it seemed very thick and as previously stated, I thought it would make my face oilier. However, I found that using it as a night cream is the best way to utilize it. The mornings after I apply it my face is so soft and even seem to have certain glow. it does seem rather thick and I was surprised it was a face cream. But I've been using this cream for a solid month now and I'm very impressed with the results.

• IT Cosmetics -Confidence In A Cream Anti-Aging Moisturizer

While I love the Sunday Riley Cream and never go a day without it, it was too heavy during the day. This moisturizer from IT Cosmetics was another unexpected find from my Ipsy box subscription. If I had just been walking through the store trying to find something on my own I probably wouldn’t have picked this up first. However, after using it the first time I found my perfect day time face lotion. It’s light enough that it doesn’t make my skin too oily and it also doesn’t have a negative effect after I apply my foundation and concealer.

Another product that entered my regular routine was yet another chance encounter. I was walking through a department store and one of the sales people in the cosmetic department offered me a free sample. I don’t know about anyone else but I normally never turn down anything free! The sample product she gave me was Dr. Brandt –Poredermabrasion. Another product that you’ll be paying much more than your standard exfoliant at your local drugstore or Walmart, but trust me it is worth it!

Now this product isn’t meant to be used every day, once every three days is actually what is instructed.

I usually use this exfoliant on days when I come home on the last day of my work week and just need to treat myself. I swear that I can feel it scrubbing that week’s stress away. Once I’m finished it leaves my face feeling so smooth and surprisingly hydrated! Then, I of course go back to my previously listed product, the SUNDAY RILEY creme, and finish up. Since I have started truly being conscious of my skincare and using these products, I have noticed a huge difference in both overall appearance and how my skin feels. 10/10 recommend each of these products to those of you have may have never heard of them before.

Thus, we have reached the end of my skincare product Holy Grail, if this story is successful, I may work on my specific makeup and hair products next!

skincare
2

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.