Blush logo

The Hair Color Code

"If it doesn't look natural, it doesn't look professional"

By Stephanie NailPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
1

Have you ever dreamed of dying your hair a color out of the ordinary?

Are you ready for those periwinkle highlights you've wanted since you were nine?

Forget about it, because that is not an acceptable look according to your office's dress and grooming policy!

Ladies and gentlemen, it's time to rise against this non-sense. The color of my hair does not decide my productivity level. My creativity should not be silenced due to the likes of powerful old men, set in their ways. If my child comes to me begging for a fun hair color, I won't turn her away. lots of dyes you can get in semi-permanent for children, and for those who crave constant change.

employers today still take into account the color of an applicant's hair. Never mind if the job can be accomplished as well with sapphire hair. Jobs today are becoming increasingly virtual, communication with customers is often done over the phone unless you're in a retail or restaurant setting. This leaves no excuse to forbid colored hair, besides an owner's personal preference.

Oddly enough, face to face settings like retail and restaurant, often allow the bright colors. Even in a face to face setting, I never once experienced a customer doubting my skill to do my job and efficiently. This is because an adult with common sense knows that hair color does not affect intelligence.

Stop Judging

Bill and his one billion dollars will be okay if his secretary, Millie, has rose highlights.

The truth is that no matter how often you've heard "don't ", people still do. In all it's not fair to allow this when it comes to employers. Your ability to earn money should not be based off your hair color choices. It's obvious by my skin tone that I don't have naturally copper red hair, so why is that any different from dying my hair crimson like Cat Valentine in Victorious.

In my (unpopular) opinion, hair color should be a part of the Employment Discrimination Laws. We've been doing such a good job over the last decades to discrimination as much as possible. While dying your hair color is a choice, it does not affect your ability to carry out a task. That's right, I am not distracted by my sunflower bangs. That would be because I am a functional human being and not a moth.

A Colorful Future

You can't change everyone's mind in one day, but I'm not worried. My babies will grow up with a colorful future. Now that the millennial generation are starting to become business owners, policies will start changing to accommodate our day and age.

Since the boom of technology, it's become more obvious that creativity makes a genius. Why not let one try their hand at coloring their hair? Style can be a great reflection of our personalities. Changing your hair is also great self therapy for women around the world, and its cheaper than going to see your therapist. Yes that is a fact, if you don't believe me try a twitter pole.

no harm is having Peacock colored hair (I mean how else am I supposed to find a husband?) It doesn't affect work quality. It doesn't affect sales. Being relaxed attracts the young generations, that will be your loyal customers in the coming years. Colored hair doesn't make me a rebellious punk.

By Kareya Saleh on Unsplash

We already have so restrictions as adults, do we have to make how we style our hair part of that for our employees? Should the color I choose for my hair affect my pay check? Is there anything truly inappropriate about platinum bubble gum hair?

You can make a difference, start an anonymous petition to change company policy today.

hair
1

About the Creator

Stephanie Nail

Aspiring Personal Stylist👡

Freelance writer 🖊

Stay at home mommy🤱🏼

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.