Blush logo

The change of beauty norms

The forms of femininity

By Samantha ParrishPublished 4 years ago 4 min read
1

Self-grooming has been apart of our culture since who knows how long when it began for women to put on makeup, do their hair, shave every part of their body up to the eyebrows, and put on a dress. It's what we've been programmed to do. I remember having to start these norms in the fifth grade. I'm going to go down the list of what we've been accustomed to have to do and why we don't have to follow the beauty protocol, as the evolution has changed, those norms don't have to go with our way of life now. I'll also be giving my own side to how I have evolved as well.

Shaving

Shaving used to be for medical purposes, not cosmetic purposes. That was an eye opener for me to put see how we transitioned shaving to an obsessive chore. When I was a young girl, as I began shaving my legs, and armpits, my skin couldn't take it too much because of my sensitive skin which made it harder to achieve what I was told I had to have. My legs were scarred and my armpits were red raw from the razor burns. But now we're developing into a culture that has embraced not having to pick up the razor and feel we have to shave. The way I see it, if there is a little growth on the long legs, who cares? Is someone going to point out microscopic stubble or patches that were missed in the shower? If someone points that out, first please tell them it's your body not theirs, second, it's not a big deal the way you decide to have your body hair to how comfortable you want to be. The sixth grade me that felt disgusting when one hair was shown, has come a long way to the 24-year-old me that can walk out the house with a short skirt and patches of leg hair that don't bother me. Just letting my skin breathe

Clothing

It's on bathroom signs, it's universal, it's our designated wardrobe. Not anymore. Since Kathrine Hepburn donned a suit in the 1930's, she can wear a suit, look great, not sexualized, and have a balance of masculine and feminine. I feel that femininity doesn't have an exact look or definition. There can be a frilly top with a fierce leather jacket and look great. Or a skirt with a pair of pants. The rise of androgyny has helped with that balance to have a unique way to be fashionable without having to take one route, take all the routes. But I'd have to say the one part that I'm proud of the most is women of all sizes wearing exactly what they want, because beauty doesn't have a number.

Hair and Makeup

We had to have a painted face and hair that isn't out of place. Now that's not the case anymore. I used to be that girl when I had to have every product on my face. Now I've become a woman to embrace my natural face of sporadic freckles and natural shadows. I remember when I began to put the brushes and lipstick down when I happened to just take a moment to look at my face with a good mental health stance. I didn't see the need to cover up my face or enhance my eyes that didn't need any colors. In terms of hair, it used to be that long hair was the one way of femininity. Not anymore, I've loved seeing how women are chopping their hair off to the style they prefer, not the one that it has to be from what is commercialized to us. In the past years women have done undercuts, shaved, or different faux-hawks. I've always been told that it's a lesbian statement, which is insulting that it's not a pigeonholed look. It's a look for anyone that wants to try it, it won't change who they are as a person, they'll still be that same unique individual. The styles are endless possibilities.

We've come a long way in revolutionizing in our evolution of styles and changing the routines. I look forward to the future for females in what we will do next. I'm on board for that journey.

-Samantha Parrish

body
1

About the Creator

Samantha Parrish

What's something interesting you always wanted to know?

Instagram: parrishpassages

tiktok: themysticalspacewitch

My book Inglorious Ink is now available on Amazon!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.