Blush logo

The Best Primer

Skin Is In

By Megan BailliePublished 3 years ago 3 min read
3
The Best Primer
Photo by Noah Buscher on Unsplash

tListen up all my beauty buddies & skincare sisters, I found the best primer ever: your skin! I love a fearless cat eye or a bold lip as much as the next glam-fan, but a solid skincare routine makes me feel invincible. Similar to starting the day with coffee and ending the evening with herbal tea, skincare should be customized for the time of day for ultimate benefits! Let me walk you through my favorite, simple routines night and day for sensitive, combination skin with light scarring & hyper-pigmentation!

Morning Holy Grail Routine

1. First Aid Beauty Gentle Cleanser. My go-to for both morning and night. A foamy, non-stripping gem which preps the skin but also removes makeup like a pro! It’s essential to choose a cleanser that isn’t too stripping even if you are acne prone because it can disrupt the pH of your skin, contributing to bigger issues in the long run! This cleanser is also cruelty-free and budget friendly, making it a true holy grail in my routines!

2. Gua Sha Facial Massage. A little de-puffing in the morning is how I turn skin-care into self-care. You can learn how to do the proper techniques for maximum results here. I love to pair this practice with a hydrating serum like this budget friendly one from The Ordinary. It provides layers of hydration without oil and improves skin texture and makes the skin more absorbent for daily moisturizer.

3. Laura Mercier Tinted Moisturizer Broad Spectrum SPF 20. You’ve undoubtedly heard how crucial it is to protect your skin from sun damage to prevent premature aging. I personally love this as my daily moisturizer for the protection as well as the even tone it provides. I have a bit of hyperpigmentation - and sun damage worsens dark spots! I usually pop on some mascara and lip balm and I am good to go!

Night Holy Grail Routine

By Kelvin Yan on Unsplash

1. Gently cleanse skin. I mentioned in my morning routine my go-to cleanser, so this doesn't generally change. My skin does well with simple routines and consistency rather than a 10-step approach. For most of us, less is more, especially if your skin is reactive! Don't over-attack that precious face.

2. Lactic Acid 10% + HA. This is a chemical exfoliant tempered by Tasmanian pepperberry which helps to combat the inflammation from the acidity. This is something that has changed the game for my skin this year! I have some moderate acne scarring and this has improved my skin texture and tone so quickly. I am getting spa-level skin repair at a fraction of the price. Do keep in mind, any kind of chemical peel makes your skin more susceptible to sunburn. OBSESSED doesn't cover it.

The Holy Grail

3. YayForEarth Face Lotion. I saved the best for last. The HOLY GRAIL of holy grails, in my humble opinion. This lotion is handmade by one of my favorite climate activists! Formulated with sustainably sourced ingredients, and sold in a reusable jar, YFE face lotion packs a nutritious punch for the skin. It feels quite dewy, but will not clog your pores! It has the sort of simple ingredient list my skin loves: organic olive oil, organic shea butter, local beeswax and organic pomegranate seed oil. Each ingredient is purposeful, providing deep restoration, evening skin tone and preventing breakouts. Check out the site linked above for more detail about the benefits of the ingredients! This one also makes a fantastic tattoo balm - you heard it from me!

There you have it - my holy grails for keeping skin clean, soft, even-toned and safe from sun damage. These products help me feel my most confident whether I am bare-faced or glammed up. Remember, skincare is a form of self-care and I say get as much of that as possible in 2020!

skincare
3

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.