Blush logo

The Art of Self Expression

An arrow signifies the strength in hunting as well as being a powerful weapon in war.

By Cherii C.Published 4 years ago 3 min read
1

As a child, my parents never pierced my ears because they wanted to leave that decision to me as I grow older. At 11 years old, I told my mom I wanted my ears pierced and she took me to a parlour to get it pierced. That was when I first discovered the beauty in self-expression through art like tattoos and piercings.

My love for piercing grew, and I wanted more. I remember asking my mom if I can get more piercings at the age of 15, and she said no. But the rebel part of me wanted it, so I secretly went and get my ears pierced. Until one day, it got infected and I had to take it off, and in a way, that made me felt empty. It felt like I was missing something.

Not long after that, I discovered that tattoos is a way for us to express ourselves too. We can create what we want, and where we want it, with a meaning behind it that no one knows until it is told. It was our own little secret.

As my parents does not agree to me getting tattoos, I've decided to venture into the world of piercings first. I got myself a belly piercing and later on added two more sets of piercings on my ears. With a belly piercing, it makes me feel sexy because it exudes confidence and charisma. However, a navel piercing can also be a symbol of rebellion.

Although you can express yourself through piercing, but I think the best way is through tattoos. Different colours, shape, symbol, and words express something unique. A same word or symbol can carry different meaning for different people.

When I was able to get my first tattoo, I got a friendship arrow symbol at my back, few inches below my neck. It was not anything special for some people, but it meant something to me. I treasure friendship. People come and go, but the true ones will stay by your side no matter how tough a situation gets. Someone who will always be there for you. That's what my tattoo meant to me. That not only do I value the friendship of others, but I will be that person who's always there for someone.

It was my way of expressing myself and my value of friendship. But why an arrow though? An arrow signifies strength in hunting as well as being a powerful weapon in war. In the Native American culture, arrow symbol is cherished by them because they are adamant on protecting their home, family and tribes from being attacked and their weapon for safety is the bow and arrow.

Because of this, arrow symbols symbolize strength in someone's life and direction in finding your way as well as represent an achievement and the fight it takes to get to where you at.

Two crossed arrows represent as a symbol of friendship, closeness and being 'on the same side'. However, I got myself a single arrow of friendship, to represent myself as that arrow. One that will protect and fight.

Few months after my first tattoo, I got myself another tattoo. Which says 'Never Stop Exploring' on the side of my under boobs. Never stop exploring. It carries so much meaning in my life. Each person will be able to take that sentence in a different meaning or a different expression. But to me, it is to tell myself to never give up and keep exploring, that one day, someday, I'll get to where I want to be, what I want to be.

It also means to never stop exploring the world. There's still so much out there, so much unknown that I've yet to encounter, yet to learn. It was a reminder for me. Go out and explore. That's what I want myself to remember through my tattoo.

Tattoos and piercing are my addiction but it is also my way to express myself in this world.

Each person has their own way to express themselves, either by drawing, painting, dancing, singing, piercing, tattoos, or any other form. But if you do see someone who has one, or two, or tons of piercings and/or tattoos, don't be so quick to judge them. It is just their way to self-express in this world. Be accepting and let the world express itself in the way it's meant to be.

body
1

About the Creator

Cherii C.

I write about anything and everything. Come join me on this adventure!

|Malaysian|

IG: lifewithcherii77

Business or Collab Inquiries

email: [email protected]

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.