Blush logo

Sunscreen: Stay Youthful

Holy Grail

By Deborrah Bennett ValentinPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
Like
Tula Skincare: Protect + Glow Suncreen Gel

Years ago before I got into skincare, my thoughts on sunscreen were wildly stereotypical. Do I really need sunscreen? Maybe sunscreen is for sunburns only? Do black people need sunscreen? Yeah, it’s cringy to think about really. Now, in my lovely mid-20s, I have found myself raving about it. I have tried various sunscreens since my skin isn’t “sensitive”. Drugstore, high end, makeup infused, even other countries (K-Beauty has amazing products). While that has been an experience, I have tied to narrow down my list to at least 3 interchangeable products.

I knew two years ago when I saw information on a tweet I was behind the information curve. “Sunscreen should be applied every two hours” the tweet read. I was confused, two hours? Who wants to keep reapplying sunscreen every two hours? Then I came across the newest bundle of confusion, sunscreen should be worn indoors. I was mind blown. The research behind this showed that UV rays can penetrate your windows. So now without a doubt, I knew I was behind a curve I didn’t want to be.

What I’ve Learned

With sunscreen the dermatologist recommended SPF is 30 (mostly outdoor protection). I prefer more because I like the extra added protection from UVB rays. ULTRAVIOLET B RAYS (UVB) are associated with sun burns, while ULTRAVIOLET A (UVA) are associate with aging. UVA is way worse than UVB as it penetrates your skin deeper (hence the aging and wrinkle warning).

There are also two types of sunscreens physical and chemical. Physical (mineral) has ingredients such as titanium dioxide & zinc oxide. They block the UV rays from penetration. Chemical has ingredients such as avobenzone and octisalate. They absorb the UV rays before they can damage your skin. (Physical (mineral) is linked to less skin irritation than chemical)

  • Yes, you should wear sunscreen inside (at least SPF15)
  • You should reapply sunscreen every 2 hours
  • Broad spectrum means both UVA & UVB protection (the best in my opinion)
  • Apply over entire body before getting dressed (rays can penetrate your clothes)
  • SPF 30 = 30 minutes longer to burn than without sunscreen. So in a general sense, you would have to reapply sunscreen while outside often the lower your SPF. This rule generally applies more to direct sunlight, but still take precautions.

What are blue light?

High energy visible light (HEV) (“blue light), is a type of light emitted from mostly the sun and yeah your electronic devices! It’s a short wavelength, which mean it produces at a higher energy & is visible by the human eye.

What’s the damage?

  • Eye damage- premature eye aging. Leads to effects of blindness (overtime) , retina damage, & eye irritation.
  • Premature skin again known as Photo aging: aging caused by light exposure (ranges from UVA,UVB,& HEV lights) causes - hyperpigmentation, premature wrinkles,
  • Disrupts sleep schedule. Everyone has a circadian rhythm (the set cycle of sleeping & waking up), that differs for each person. These lights can cause you to alter that in a negative way. (Proven fact that lack of sleep causes premature aging to).

Have you ever purchased a sunscreen and it didn’t give you the effects you wanted? Or did it leave you a white cast ?

This sunscreen is perfect!

(Definitely going in my travel bag)

I originally received this in my Boxycharm about 3-4 months ago. Instantly falling in love with it, I am now on my second tube. Tula is currently one of my favorite brands and I have sampled/tried a lot of their products.

This product:

TULA SKINCARE - Daily Sunscreen Gel Broad Spectrum SPF 30

This award winning sunscreen is perfect for all skin types!

Key ingredients:

  • Probiotics: helps to strengthen skin barrier and retain moisture
  • Pineapple & Papaya Extract: exfoliating ingredient that help to even out skin tone
  • Wild Butterfly Ginger Root: blue light protection

It’s also:

  • VEGAN !
  • Non-comedogenic: your pores are safe.
  • FREE OF: parabens, sulfates, mineral oil, formaldehyde, synthetic fragrance, silicone and dairy

(My sensitive skin lovelies are safe)!

This product leaves me with an amazing glow! It’s not too heavy or dense and it’s easy to apply evenly. It doesn’t have a strong distinctive smell, but it does have a tiny bit of shimmer.

It’s perfect under makeup! My foundation and base has never been more flawless. It even lasted hot southern days.

It costs $36, but using it every day lasted me for 4 months! A little goes a long way since it’s heavier on the hydration side, so two to three pea-sized dots covers my face and neck.

My skin loves this and it is also perfect for the fall/winter months as it provides the perfect amount of hydration!

skincare
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.