Blush logo

Snowy Cabin

He's The One

By Adrienne ElizabethPublished about a year ago 3 min read
Like
Snowy Cabin
Photo by Ian Keefe on Unsplash

We drove up the snowy winding road towards the cozy A-frame cabin. All around was evergreen trees as tall as we could see with snow topping the branches with green foliage. It was breathtaking with the monochrome landscape palette of a winter’s day light and green and white lighting our way. We were making our way up the winding road together listening to soft classical music which seemed to fit the mood as we were calmly anticipating spending a first weekend together alone. We had picked this destination for the seclusion. We both loved nature and the serene atmosphere of a cabin in the woods that overlooked the lake at the bottom felt like a natural spot for us to get away from it all. We had been driving for quite some time and were relieved to have gotten off the main roads and onto the mountain dirt road. It felt as if we had finally veered off in another direction that felt more blissful. It was as if we could feel the shift from a long tired trip and we were finally getting to our final destination and many emotions were coming all at once. I felt a sigh of relief and calmness flow through my body as if I could finally relax and melt into the moment. I was tired for sure, eyes were feeling fatigued with sleepiness. I was holding his hand as he was driving and I was leaning in towards his direction, with an eagerness to finally get settled in together and get lost in his warm embrace. The feeling of his hand was all I wanted in that moment. I knew he was the one, I had felt it from the first moment with him. He felt like home to me. I was silently recalling a favorite song of mine that spoke directly to my heart and it’s like my love for him, was what all the love songs I had ever heard were written just so I could finally understood what love was. I realized I had been so wrong about so many things, and I couldn’t see so much, because when I first lost him all those years ago he took a whole part of me. I had to learn to live without what I wanted. I wasn’t sure if I had lost him, but he had left. I know he definitely took a part of my heart. It was like now, he was bringing it back to me, and all the voids inside me were beginning to fill up, slowly but surely. I could feel it. It was like nothing I had ever felt before. I don’t think he quite knew how much he meant to me. I don’t think I even knew at the time. It’s been the most complex mystery of my life and the unraveling of a new life was something I could see for the first time.

I loved how I could just sit with him in silence and it’s like we didn’t have to say a word or explain anything, it was as if our hearts recognized each other from the start and we spoke each other’s language, effortlessly. He didn’t have to say a word, we both had many hurts and scars, but it’s as if our inside patterns matched and we could overlap inside and we could heal together. I knew driving up the mountain road I would spend the rest of my life loving him.

I love how he made me feel so deeply and then my thoughts just seemed to flutter around all about him and how I could love him better and give him what he needed. The crunching of the mountain pebbles on the road could be heard and felt from the tires driving over them. It all seemed so surreal yet so aligned with what I always wanted. It resonated with the saying, when you know, you know, in a way that just couldn’t be explained. I couldn’t wait to get to the top of the mountain and get to our cabin and go inside and get warm from the cold. He was my true north and it seemed like I had spent my whole life looking for him and had already met him so long ago. He was the leading man in every romance movie I had ever seen. I had been in love with him my whole life and I never knew it. I couldn’t wait to be alone with him for the first time in our cozy cabin.

art
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.