Blush logo

Show Up As The Human You Want To Be

Get your ass up and be the person you desire to be most. It all begins with you.

By Katie Higgins Published 2 years ago 4 min read
Like
Photo from Pinterest

Fake it till you make it? Heard that a million times before in my life, so cliche…..but TRUE! My entire life can be in shambles and I’m barely hanging on by a thread but you would never know because I am showing up as the human I want to be, even if I don’t feel like it inside. Practicing the habits I wish to turn into a lifestyle one day.

I used to be such a “wing it” type of person until I realized just how self destructive that is in the long run. Now do not get me wrong, I still wing lots of things in my life when I just straight up don’t have the energy or patience to plan. Like how my hair is pinned up in a stylish pink claw clip for instance. Looks cute and somewhat put together, but I haven’t ran a brush through my hair since yesterday, and you would never know that— At least I hope not.

It seems so intimidating at first to become who you want to be, especially when you have been on autopilot almost your whole life, breezing by expecting everything to workout in your favor. Unfortunately for us, life can be a major bitch sometimes. So what then?

GET YOUR ASS UP AND BE THE BADASS YOU CAN BE!

You can do it, anyone can do it. The most courageous thing anyone can do is going to battle with themselves and fixing the parts about yourself you don’t like. As frightening as it looks, once you start, there is no going back. Your body, mind, and soul have started to recognize change and sticking with it turns it into a lifestyle so easy it’s like breathing. Putting yourself first for once in your life is calling your name.

You are bigger than the intimidating thoughts of “change is scary” and “what if I fail?” Oh honey, but what if this change is exactly where you find your inner peace and happiness? What if you succeed bigger than your imagination? Enough with the negative self talk, you live in your mind so make it a nice place to be. Show up as that person you so desire to be.

- SET GOALS, no matter how small or big just create them. Hell, a goal of mine once was to get out of bed and shower, and I celebrated completing that goal by getting myself ice cream. Start slow and small, this is a lifestyle journey, not a race. Small steps put things in motion.

- WRITE THAT SHIT DOWN, whatever inspires you, what mood you were in, something that made you smile, something that caught your attention, a good song you heard, why that bitch at work made you want to throat punch them, whatever the hell it may be, get it out of your head and sort out those thoughts. Manifestation is real, so make sure you are doing good for yourself. Decluttering your mind gives you room in there for peace. Also, looking back on those writings one day makes you realize just how far you have come even If you think you haven’t.

- PICK UP THE HABITS THAT TURN YOU INTO THE BEST FUTURE YOU, change only happens if we do. Find out what lights a fire in your soul and sprint at it. What will get you to that point you want to be at? As for me I did a total 180, I changed my thinking, my style, my hair, even my daily habits. It was then when I realized you are only as good as you make yourself out to be. That was the biggest motivation of all. Because I feel like I am deserving of good things, and so are you, so why am I not activily pursuing the best for myself? It’s the little things that make the biggest impact.

- ABOVE ALL, LOVE YOURSELF, at the end of the day, we are all human just taking life one step at a time. And that is OKAY. Take your new transitions one step at a time, and it will all flow together like your favorite poetry. Be patient and kind with yourself, you’re the one there for you the most. Good things don’t come easy, so do not give up on yourself. Talk to and treat yourself with all the respect and gratitude in the world. Others will see how you carry yourself and be inspired, and probably will treat you with that same energy, because you are making it look like you don’t take shit from anyone, even if that is not true.

So by all means, be your own biggest fan, put yourself first, and fake it till you make it baby.

body
Like

About the Creator

Katie Higgins

Vulnerable enough to write the words that will stick with you always.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.