Blush logo

Satin So Good: kitsch Satin Pillowcase Review

I discovered the power satin and want to share my experience!

By The White FoxPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
Like
Satin So Good: kitsch Satin Pillowcase Review
Photo by Cindy C on Unsplash

I was browsing on a certain app called TikTok and was turned on to the idea of using satin products for hair and skin health. For some reason, this really intrigued me. So, I decided to purchase a satin pillowcase to see what all the hype was about.

The brand of pillowcase that I purchased is called /kitsch/ and I purchased it from my local ULTA retail store.

Procuring the Pillowcase

I purchased this while browsing at my local ULTA while out shopping with a friend. I had been looking for a proper and well-made case but many were quite expensive. This brand cost only $20.00 for a single, standard size case. It comes in multiple patterns, but I decided on the classic and beautiful pearl white.

First Impressions

Despite the cheap price tag, this pillowcase was surprisingly very comfortable and luxurious. It is very soft, smooth, and fits my memory foam pillow well. The texture is buttery smooth against your face and hair. I had the urge to rub my face all over it, so that definitely tells you something about the quality.

My First Week

I slept on this pillowcase for one week to see how it performed and it could save my poor, abused hair. I was initially worried that due to the low breathability of satin that I would sweat a lot that night ( I already sleep very hot.) To my surprise, I woke up no hotter than I usually do. In fact, I think I may have actually woken up cooler than usual.

There was a noticeable difference in the quality of my hair in just one night. I wake up every single morning with bed head, but not this morning. My old cotton pillowcase gave me a crazy nest of a bed head every single morning that was an enormous pain to brush out. My hair always cracks and breaks during my morning brushing, but not with the /kitsch/ pillowcase. The satin pillowcase completely eliminated tangles and frizz.

As satin does not absorb oils from your hair like cotton, I was eager to see if my dry hair would retain any. The pillowcase proved extremely effective in this area as well. My pillowcase was completely unfazed and my hair did not feel dry or drained. My hair was soft and shiny like I'd never seen it before.

One thing to note that I really enjoyed was that it did not grab and tug at my hair follicles as my cotton pillowcase did. My hair slides across the surface without getting caught, turned, or twisted and does not break anymore.

As far as noticing differences in my skin, my face did not feel as hot or dried out as it usually does when I wake up. I did notice that my moisturizer seemed to stay on my skin rather than be absorbed by my pillowcase. It also had a very pleasant glow about it that I haven't seen in quite a while.

The kitsch pillowcase does not absorb smells and oils and therefore stays cleaner longer. Because it is oil-resistant, I have to wash it on average less than my cotton pillowcases. At this point, I'm considering an entire bedspread of satin or silk fabric!

Final Impression

I really love this pillowcase. I now truly believe in the power of satin and plan to purchase other satin products to up my hair game. If you're like me and have ridiculously dry, brittle, thin, and damaged hair, I implore you to give satin and silk products a try. Even if your hair is perfectly fine as it is, using satin and silk products will help extend your hair's longevity and health by preventing future damage.

If you learned something, appreciate my work, or if I have helped you make a purchasing decision, feel free to leave a tip! I love helping others and sharing my knowledge and experiences. Much love!

If you'd like to purchase the /kitsch/ satin pillowcase, you can buy it here. I am not sponsored by /kitsch/ or ULTA.

product review
Like

About the Creator

The White Fox

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.