Blush logo

Retail Stories: "I Want Sample of This"

The return sampler

By StorytellerPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
1
Retail Stories: "I Want Sample of This"
Photo by Charisse Kenion on Unsplash

I've worked on multiple retail jobs and collected a lot of interesting stories. I still think back to the experiences...

Cosmetic sellers nowadays all have some kind of sampling program. Samples are meant for you to try and see if the product is suitable for your skin, meaning if you will get any reactions to it. In terms of skincare products, the samples are not a means for you to try and see results, as for you to see results of any product it is recommended for you to use it for weeks, or specifically 28-40 days as that is the normal rate of skin cell turnover.

Grabbing samples is understandable, especially if you are fairly sensitive to products (no, pimples do not count, when I say sensitive, I mean itching, heating, rashes, hives, etc.) -- although I personally do not recommend any sampling unless the samples are prepacked and sealed samples and there are reasons to why I do not recommend grabbing samples, and I am sure you will agree with me if you have already read my other post: Retail Stories: "OMG What is That?!"

By Anastasiia Ostapovych on Unsplash

I remember a particle lady, perhaps in her sixties, who would always come into the store and find her three products and grab them to us for her three samples, she would particularly avoid me as I would be the one that follows the policies and only provide enough for two to three uses per sample. I swear she probably has jars of full-size eye creams at home, simply by collecting all the samples she grabs every week, yes, she is a regular, a regular sampler.

By Charisse Kenion on Unsplash

When I first met her she brought three eye creams to me and said the word "try", I understood and had wanted to make sure the products are suitable for her and indeed the products for her needs, then I realized she does not speak English, or at least that is how she is showing herself to be. I took out sample jars and disposable spatulas and scooped three pearl-size of the first eye cream into a sample jar, I was about to close the first sample and begin writing the name of the first one on a sample bag for her. She stopped me and said "more", I explained to her the samples are only for her to try two to three times and see if she has any sensitivities to it, I guess she did not understand me and said, "try, more, try". The store started to get busy and I did not want to spend the time explaining to her how I cannot give her more, so I gave her 1 more pearl-size of that eye cream and said "sorry, only this much". She looked disappointed and said, "okay, thank you". Then I began making the other ones, repeating the 4 pearl-sizes. She took her samples and walked away, while I got busy with the next client.

About a week later, I was on my way back from lunch. I saw a colleague of mine assisting the same client, the colleague gave her a little more than I did, but the client still said "try, more, try". My colleague got a little impatient and let her know the amount she gave her is a lot already and "no more". The client looked disappointed but still walked away with those samples in her hands, yes, the same three eye creams.

Then about another week later, I was helping another client and realized three eye creams were missing from the shelf I was going to show the client I was with. I looked in the direction of where usually samples were made, the client was there, she was massaging eye cream around her eyes and waiting for her samples of the same three eye creams again. The colleague helping her is not very familiar with how much eye cream is needed peruse and ended up giving her a full sample jar of eye cream (5ml), which is a lot, considering a full-size eye cream is usually around 15ml. The client was thrilled with how much eye cream she got, grabbed her samples and walked away.

After that I realized the client keeps coming back about a week apart each time, always grabbing the same three eye creams, scooping a finger full to massage onto her face, then asking for the same samples.

My colleague, working in the same department as me, was upset as the client must have gotten enough sample jars equivalent to multiple full-size eye creams. She had thought enough was enough and told the client "no more sample of these because you tried many times already". The client did not understand at first, but the colleague decided to show her to other products and thought perhaps if the price range is lower she would not be so persistent in grabbing all the free samples home.

The client was not happy with the "cheaper" options, instead walked away and walked back later asking other colleagues to get samples of three "new" eye creams, of course, still in the higher price range.

Then... the client kept coming back weekly to grab the same eye creams again.

By this point, we had just given up and just let it be.

-------

*Disclaimer: Retail Stories are based on actual events and experience, with some details added and/or edited. If there is any resemblance to your experience and/or people you know, it may or may not be coincidental.

pop culture
1

About the Creator

Storyteller

Going down memory lane...

Inquiries/Collaborations, please email [email protected]

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.