Blush logo

Product Review: 'Say Yes To... Coconut' Lip Mask

Mixed Feelings

By Anne Published 6 years ago 3 min read
Like

I love face masks. I almost think I have an obsession, because every time I am in any store that sells them, I have to spend at least ten minutes in that aisle looking through them and end up buying at least two of them every trip. Even more, I love trying new ones. While shopping for one to try in Target, I came across "Say Yes To" lip mask. It is a two step process: part one consists of a coconut oil scrub to exfoliate the lips, and step two is a paper mask to wear on the lips for fifteen minutes. The duo promises to deliver smooth, plumper- than- before lips ,and only for about $2 (give or take a couple cents).

Being that big lips are the craze and mine are pretty average-sized, I like to look for ways to enhance their size, especially when I am doing a full face of makeup. I tried this before doing my makeup for formal, and was extremely excited for my lips to look plump while wearing a daring shade of berry lipstick.

The directions are pretty simple. The first step is to rub the exfoliator on the lips for a few minutes in order to remove dead skin and plump the lips. The packet of exfoliator comes with much more product than is needed, so I would recommend having a Ziploc bag handy to store it in for future uses. After exfoliating, the instructions say to wipe away with warm water, then to apply the paper lip mask. It looks ridiculous when you put it on, and you really can't talk with it on, even though it has a slit where the lips separate.

I followed the directions to a T, and while my lips were smoother, I did not notice them to be any more plump than usual.

If you are looking for an easy way to achieve more voluptuous lips, I suggest either over drawing your lip lines and using a plumping gloss, like those made by Too Faced Cosmetics. However, I do recommend this mask if you are looking for smoother, more hydrated lips. The step one exfoliator works better than any other lip scrub I have tried, namely the lip scrub I had purchased at Lush. It is more coarse and really gets the dead or dry skin off your lips. Coconut oil is a natural sealant, so while it is exfoliating away the unwanted skin from your lips, it is also locking in the moisture your lips already have. The second part of the treatment works to give some extra moisture to the lips, which made makeup application much easier than usual. After applying the mask, not only did my lipstick go on smoother, it lasted longer and did not settle into the creases of my lips.

So, while I was disappointed to see that my lips had not become any more plump than they already were, I was still impressed by the mask's abilities to exfoliate and hydrate my lips as well as they did. I highly recommend using this mask before a night out, or especially before a big event.

"Yes To..." products can typically be found at any drug store, beauty supply store, Target, or groceries stores.

"Yes To..." is a popular skincare brand which manufactures cleansers, face wipes, face masks, and more. Their products are almost entirely organic and reach a wide range of skin types. Their products are sensitive on the skin, but effective. I have been using "Yes To" products for years and have never been disappointed in the quality of their products. They have extended their product line within the past few years to cater to other skin types, such as breakouts, dry skin, and more. It is easy to get lost in their product line, so I suggest doing research on what products you would need before shopping in stores (to both avoid a headache, confusion, and buying extra products that look appealing but you do not need!).

product review
Like

About the Creator

Anne

blogger, content creator and mama

find me on socials: @paranneting @anamesa_anne

zillenial

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.