Blush logo

No Poo!

Why I Quit Shampoo and How You Can Too

By Oliver Noah JohnsonPublished 6 years ago 3 min read
Like
After

A year ago, I quit shampoo. Why was I stripping my hair just to put moisture back in it? Why didn't I leave it alone in the first place? I know what you're thinking, GROSS. I thought so at first! Using conventional shampoos aren’t the only way to get your hair clean, and it shouldn’t be your first choice. There are several methods of no-poo: apple cider vinegar, baking soda, hot water, and more. These are the 3 methods that first come to mind when I think of no-poo, but I have heard of more.

Before I tell you which method I use, let's see an old picture.

One Year Ago...

Before

As you can see, my hair has gone through a major transformation. My locks were very dry and brittle. I used color and lightener in my hair a lot, and I thought that was the only culprit!

Today I use the hot water method, but this wasn't my first choice. I tried several different brands of shampoo first. Sulfate-free, moisturizing, and color-treated shampoos could not save my hair.

Years before I tried the other two no-poo methods, but apple cider vinegar and baking soda still left my hair dry! I eventually just went back to a simple, natural, shampoo. After watching some of my favorite YouTubers, I decided I'd try once more.

I'll let you in on some secrets of using the hot water method below, and how you can start today!

Step One: Transitioning

Take the leap and skip the poo. This is gonna be scary because you're gonna worry about your hair being greasy. Truth is, it will be. This is called the transition period. You're going to want to have some hats or hoodies available because it can get rough. The transition period completely depends on how much you washed your hair previously. The more you wash your hair, the more oil (sebum) your scalp will produce. Once you stop, your scalp will continue to secrete the same amount until it is adjusted. Some people like to gradually limit their shampoo, but you'll still end up going through a transition period.

Step Two: Washing Your Hair

You'll need a brush, hot water, and patience for this step. The first step of washing your hair is to brush it. Brushing your hair will help move the oils from your scalp to the ends of your hair. This is so your hair can be "conditioned." The next step is to run hot water through your hair. You should be massaging your scalp to loosen up the excess oil, then running your fingers down to move the oil further. You can do this for as long as you want to. My hair is short and it's a very fast process for me. You might not notice too much of a difference in your hair at first, and this is where patience comes in.

Step Three: Enjoy

My hair took about a month to completely adjust. This is going to differ between people, and it's okay if yours takes longer. Once your scalp has limited its production of oil to a normal amount, you'll start to notice the effects of not using shampoo. Your hair will be shiny, soft, and easier to manage; If your hair is colored, it will be vibrant for much longer without poo! My colors would last months if I didn't change the color every week!

These three steps will have your hair feeling and looking its best. I hope my store inspired you, and if you choose to go no-poo, let me know! I'm excited to hear your stories. ♥

hair
Like

About the Creator

Oliver Noah Johnson

Mental Health Advocate

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.