Blush logo

NexGen or Acrylic?

Get the best out of your trip to the nail salon!

By Nery TavarezPublished 6 years ago 3 min read
Like
For All Nail Junkies!

If you're like me, you probably always struggle with what you want to be done to your nails. Should they be natural? Should it be a regular manicure or a gel manicure? Maybe, you'll go back to acrylic once more. Or, should you try NexGen? Well, if you're conflicted, I'm here to discuss the final two and let you know the major and minor differences between NexGen and acrylic nails.

What is acrylic? Acrylic consists of Monomer liquid and a polymer powder. The two chemicals are mixed together to sculpt what we know as, "the acrylic nail." Now, if you're into super detail about the chemicals that are involved in creating the substances, I will place a link at the end. Many of us who have tried acrylic have gone through three phases. The first is, oh my goodness my nails look super bomb. The second is, OMG do I need a new set or do I just get a fill? Thirdly, Okay, I think it's time to take them off and holy shit my nails look super disgusting I will NEVER EVER NEVER EVER do this again!

Between the process of trying to get your nails back to normal, perhaps you have tried to cover up your "nail breakage" by getting a normal mani or getting a gel mani. At the end of the day, we nail junkies always ALWAYS return to acrylics. I was at the very point of, "should I return to acrylics," two weeks ago. I knew I was going to return because I had now found a professional nail tech that does not damage my nails when acrylic is applied to it, but that's a story for another day. In the midst of finding a nail design for my brand new full set, I kept hearing the word "NexGen." The word on the street was that NexGen was healthier for your nails, it is protective for your nails, and it is much better than acrylic. When I asked about it, my nail tech was adamant about NexGen and she said: "I won't do dip, I don't do dip, I won't do dip, I don't do dip." Well, that's not the response I'd be expecting for a process that should be "healthier" and "better" than acrylic.

What is NexGen? NexGen is similar to Acrylic. The application is just very different. Your nail is first coated with a base and then your nail is dipped into a powder. If you love watching nail videos on Instagram and Youtube, then you must admit, the process of NexGen is pretty cool. However, is there a big difference between this technique and all the others? Well, what is NexGen made of? NexGen is made up of the main ingredient in Krazy glue and it is mixed with acrylic. Yes, you read that correctly! Does this sound familiar? Well, if you've gotten acrylics that aren't sculpted, you've received tips that are laid on your nail bed with Krazy glue and then the acrylic powder is laid on top of the false tip and your nail bed. So, how did the word spread that this process of NexGen is better than acrylic? In my opinion? It was one great rumor.

Getting your nails done is truly all about preference and the results that you receive, whether bad or good, all depend on your nail tech and how well you maintain your nails. I have never tried NexGen, but I have found a nail tech that displays proper care for my nails and they are never left damaged and brittle. If she says that she won't do NexGen, I have to trust her judgment because ultimately, she is the only person who has not damaged my nails. If you have only done NexGen because you thought it was healthier for you, then maybe it's time to consider the "dark side :)" of acrylic.

So, what are you getting done next? If you're still conflicted, I recommend finding someone who truly cares for your nails. I am sure that it feels much better if we can get our nails done for a cheaper price, but sometimes it pays off finding a solo business owner who charges $10 more rather than going to a chain nail salon to get a $20 special and ending up with nails that will have to be covered up for the rest of your life.

Remember, manicures, acrylic, and NexGen should be things that you do if you want to, not because you have to!

Hope you guys enjoyed this post!

Here are some extra links below:

"The Dip Powder Manicure Trend You've Been Seeing on Instagram Isn't New"

"Acrylic Fingernail"

XOXO

nails
Like

About the Creator

Nery Tavarez

20-year-old English major!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.