Blush logo

Natural Beauty Review

Over the last few years, I've tried to switch to natural beauty products. Here are just a few of the things I've tried.

By Hannah RandolphPublished 4 years ago 5 min read
Like
Natural Beauty Review
Photo by Content Pixie on Unsplash

In recent years many beauty brands have been moving toward using only natural ingredients in their products. For instance, Sephora launched its “Clean at Sephora” category in June 2018. The products included are usually free of sulphates, parabens, and phthalates. These chemicals help prolong a beauty product’s shelf life or increase the foam in a soap. These chemicals are not regulated by the Food and Drug Administration in the United States.

Skincare

The R&R mask by Summer Fridays promises to exfoliate and leave skin feeling softer after just one use. At $52, I think there are much better alternatives for less. The mask comes out of the tube with a clear gel-like consistency, flecked with little particles. It carries a subtle rose scent that was very pleasant. The mask felt sticky on my hands and face while applying. After waiting the 10 minutes suggested by the brand, I washed the mask off in warm water. The small particles were difficult to remove completely from my face. I did not notice a huge difference in my skin after application; it didn’t feel extra nourished or brightened.

Summer Fridays- R&R mask $52 2.25oz sephora.com

One of my favorite products was the Tatcha Dewy Skin Cream. The cream felt soft on my fingers during application and it absorbed directly into my skin. Its floral scent smells pleasant but not overpowering. My skin instantly felt softer after application and it looked dewy and moisturized. I applied this during my night routine after washing my face, and the next day my skin still looked fresh and plump.

Tatcha Dewy Skin Cream $68 1.7oz sephora.com

The Farmacy Honeymoon Glow night serum also offers up a good source of moisture after a long, cold winter; my skin definitely needed it. This lightweight serum acts more like a cream. I thought it smelled like maple syrup, though that is not one of the many natural ingredients listed in this product. After only one use my skin felt soft and smooth. “Only use this a couple times a week when getting started since it has alpha hydroxy acid, which helps with cell renewal but does make skin more sensitive in the sun,” says Elliott, sales associate at Sephora. “I’d suggest you wear a sunscreen after applying this, but you should wear sunscreen every day so this is just a good reminder.”

Farmacy- Honeymoon Glow $58 1oz sephora.com

Haircare

Natural hair care products were a bit more difficult to find. The UK brand Unilever recently launched an all-natural brand, ApotheCARE Essentials. I tried The Booster shampoo and conditioner which promises to volumize thin hair. This shampoo smells so good, it was if I had planted 10 rose bushes in my bathroom -- and the scent stayed in my hair. This shampoo did not lather like most shampoos since it does not contain sulphates. I did notice my hair was a bit fluffier and more voluminous after it dried. I have tried many volumizing shampoos and this one seems to be the best.

ApotheCARE Essentials The Booster Shampoo and Conditioner $10.99 each 12 fl oz target.com

The B. Well Organic Castor Oil from Briogeo was for sure my least-favorite product. According to the Sephora website, this oil promises to nourish hair, scalp, skin and brows. The consistency was similar to honey and I was a bit afraid to apply this to my hair as it felt like glue. Luckily I only applied this on a small section of hair, which instantly became sticky. I also applied some on my scalp, which was just as unpleasant; it made my hair look like I had not washed it for a week. The instructions said not to rinse it out so I let it sit on my hair for a while. The section of hair stayed sticky and oily for a while with an unpleasant smell. I eventually took a shower and washed the oil out of my hair because I disliked the smell and texture.

Briogeo- B. Well Organic + Cold-Pressed 100% Castor Oil $26 1.5oz sephora.com

I have been bleaching and dyeing my hair pretty consistently for the past two years, which has made it pretty damaged with breakage and not much shine. John at Lush suggested I try the hot oil treatment Damaged, formulated with avocado oil to help nourish damaged hair. You put the stick with the solid oil in a cup of hot water to melt the oil. I applied the mixture once it was cool enough to my hair. It was relaxing spreading the warm goo on my head, and then I let it sit for 20 minutes. I had a bit left over so next time I use this product I might only use half. The treatment’s slight vanilla smell calmed me. After rinsing and letting it air dry, my hair felt softer and looked a bit shinier than before the treatment.

Lush- hot oil treatment Damaged $10.75 0.7oz lush.com

Makeup

The product I am most likely to purchase again and again would have to be the Bare Minerals Complexion Rescue foundation stick. I have never tried a foundation stick before; I always worried it would be too drying or chalky. This foundation was soft and easily blended into my skin. The coverage was medium, but easily buildable if you want more. The finish on the skin is not too dewy or matte, and it did not look or feel like I was wearing foundation. “This foundation is water-based so it won’t clog your pores,” says Bare Minerals employee Aaliyah. “It is also super hydrating so your skin won’t be so gross after wearing this all day and you won’t break out.”

Bare minerals- complexion rescue hydrating foundation stick $32 .35oz bareminerals.com

While the United State carries some makeup products by the UK brand Lush, most of the cosmetics are exclusive to the UK. I was able to try the Feeling Younger Skin Tint and it did not disappoint. A little bit goes a long way with this powerful highlighter. “You could mix it in with your foundation for an all-over glow, put it under your eyes to brighten them up, or use it as a regular highlighter,” suggested John, the very helpful Lush employee. I used this as a normal highlighter, applying it on my cheek bones. The liquid consistency was a little difficult to apply, but it looked amazing on my skin. It was not overly sparkly but did capture light quite nicely. It could be applied heavier for a dramatic look or sparingly for a more subtle look.

Lush- feeling younger skin tint $14.95 0.7oz lush.com

With the warmer weather approaching we are looking for glowing, bronzy skin. The D-Bronzi Sunshine Drops provide a subtle bronzed complexion. “This is super concentrated and will make you look way too bronzed if you use it on your own. I’d probably mix it with foundation or moisturizer,” Elliot suggested. I mixed mine with my regular moisturizer and did notice my skin looked slightly bronzed. The color was extremely subtle and could probably be adjusted depending on the ratio of D-Bronzi to whatever you mix it with.

Drunk Elephant- D-Bronzi Anti-Pollution Sunshine Drops $36 1oz sephora.com

organic
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.