Blush logo

My Go To's: Skincare

Middle age skin care? Yep.

By Jennifer Black YoungPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like
My Go To's: Skincare
Photo by Birgith Roosipuu on Unsplash

Noxzema

Yep, old school super-menthol smelling Noxzema. It can be used as a cleanser, a treatment, a mask, and even as a moisturizer. I have dry skin and I don’t have a lot of problems with zits but a dab of Noxzema overnight is perfect to clear it up. It’s also good with stubborn makeup. Once a week, I apply a thin coat and leave it on for about 20 minutes then wipe it off with a makeup remover cloth and my skin feels so detoxed and just clean. I love it.

e.l.f. Bouncy Gel Cleanser

I am not a fan of washing my face with the kind of cleansers that I have to get my face wet to activate it and then rinse with water...mostly because I feel like it is just messy and time consuming...plus my skin is so dry that when it gets wet and then dries, it almost hurts and I have to heavily moisturize. Anyway, I got a sample of this and I used it in the shower and for the first time ever, I didn’t feel my skin tighten up as soon as I rinsed. I’ve used it ever since.

Pixi Glow Tonic

I know this one is all over Pinterest, TikTok, and Instagram...but it's for a very real reason. It's a super gentle exfoliant that, over time, really does what it says it does. My mild hyper-pigmentation has lightened, my skin texture has improved, and I have a nice natural glow.

Thayer’s Rosewater Witch Hazel

Apparently this is another product that I use that people say you shouldn’t, especially if you have dry skin...but yet I love it. I use it as a toner...and I use it to neutralize the ingredients in the Pixi Glow Pads (you are supposed to only leave it on for two minutes then rinse with water but I use witch hazel instead). Also I love anything Rose.

The Ordinary Caffeine Solution 5% - EGCG

I have dark circles under my eyes...nothing crazy, pretty standard. I use The Ordinary Caffeine Solution 5% every morning. Again, I’m gonna say it’s magic but I did notice after a few weeks of consistent use that the dark circles were just sort of gone. For real, I hardly even use concealer any more.

Weleda Light Ski Food

This smells really good, lemony-citrusy-almost-candy-like...but it is strong so I could see people not liking it. I use this everywhere. It is a fantastic face moisturizer as well as body lotion. It absorbs well, isn’t greasy, and great for really dry skin.

Queen Helene Cocoa Butter

I use this on my body and my face. It is so moisturizing. It is also really greasy so be prepared for that...but for super dry skin, this stuff is so soothing. This is another product I’ve used since high school. I buy it by the tub.

Vaseline

Another classic - Vaseline is lip balm, scalp moisturizer, makeup remover, sleeping mask. You can use it around your hairline to prevent hair dye from staining your skin. You can use it on your eyelids or cheekbones as a glass skin style highlighter. I have a huge tub at home, a tiny one in my car...oh, did I mention between the thighs to prevent chafing?

Smith’s Rosebud Salve

The best fucking lip balm, period...hands down. One tin lasts forever! Seriously, I use it every day and my last tin lasted 5 years. I am not kidding. I got a new one 15 months ago and there is barely a dent in it, and my daughter has started sharing it with me. It isn’t too shiny, it has barely any scent, it lasts a decent amount of time, and I just really like the look of the tin.

Blistex

My dry skin translates to my lips and that sucks. Sometimes even Smith’s Rosebud Salve can’t save the day so I have to step it up a notch. Blistex is my first aid when I have winter cracked lips...or even better, to prevent winter cracked lips.

product review
Like

About the Creator

Jennifer Black Young

Jen is a writer, mom, and officiant from Ohio. She likes to travel and collects things like coffee mugs.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.