Blush logo

My Go-To's:

Hair Care

By Jennifer Black YoungPublished 2 years ago 4 min read
Like
My Go-To's:
Photo by Kasia Serbin on Unsplash

“Wet” Hair Brush

I bought one of these sort of randomly for my kid who has long and very thick hair. She gets knots like nobody’s business. So I saw one of these brushes in a pretty purple that I knew she’d like and it was one of my best purchases ever. I have since bought a leopard one for myself and a larger one for the kid (so she can carry the little one I got her in her bag for hair emergencies).

Bobby Pins

It has been noted that you can tell when I have been somewhere because there is a trail of bobby pins...this is mostly if I have spent a significant amount of time there, not just, like, passing through...but the point is, I use a lot of bobby pins. I usually have at least two in my hair on any given day but I have had as many as ten. I use them to catch the under hairs in the back that don’t exactly reach my bun; to anchor a messy bun; to anchor a headband or bandana; to hold back my bangs...whatever. I buy them by the hundreds.

Goody Ponytail Holders

The thick ones with no metal hardware. They don’t slide, they don’t pull (much), and you can get them in every color known to man. I am a ponytail and bun-girl so ponytail holders are staples just like bobby pins. I mean, what would I even do without them? I would be super sad.

White Rain Hairspray

It’s cheap but it gets the job done. I don’t use hairspray often enough to justify the expensive stuff. White Rain is strong enough, doesn’t smell horrible, and has the level of hold I need. It’s a solid hairspray for the money.

Queen Helene Cholesterol Cream

First, I will admit that I really just enjoy saying Queen Helene Cholesterol Cream. What can I say, I enjoy language. I also like the product. I have been using it off and on for years...since high school?...It has basically no scent, it can be used as a pre-treatment, a mask, as a rinse-out conditioner, or as a leave-in conditioner. I personally put it on several hours before my shower and wrap my hair up in a shower cap then shampoo out and condition as usual.

Head and Shoulders 2-in-1

A classic, I have used this since high school. I don’t really use much product at all, but I do have a scalp condition that causes dandruff-like flakes. I have full and shiny hair and it helps with the scalp thing. It also smells pretty good, isn’t too harsh nor too weak and I really can skip the conditioner if I’m feeling lazy.

Batiste Dry Shampoo

And when I am REALLY feeling lazy, this is my favorite dry shampoo...it comes in a bunch of formulas (like for dry hair, oily hair, etc) and a ton of different scents. It also comes in various sizes for home, purse, travel. There might be better ones out there but I haven’t found them yet. Oh, do be aware of the direction telling you to hold it 6 inches away...if you don’t you will end up with a white patch that is decidedly tough to come out.

Neutrogena Anti-Residue Shampoo

For the same reason that I use Head and Shoulders on most days, I use this deep cleaning shampoo once a week...and I’ve used this one forever too. This shampoo helps to really clean my scalp and reduce the flakiness as much as possible.

Cantu Shea Butter Refresh Apple Cider Vinegar Root Rinse + Tea Tree Oil

Same day that I use the Neutrogena Anti-Residue Shampoo I use this. It is a bit water and I have to be careful when applying, but it is great for getting my scalp clean and for treating the issues I have in the first place so it doesn’t get so bad throughout the week.

Organix Renewing Moroccan Argan Oil

Sometimes I don’t trim my hair as often as I should. Sometimes the weather makes my hair a bit frizzy. Sometimes I use this stuff to smooth it out. It works. It isn’t heavy, it smells really subtle, and it keeps my hair from turning into a super huge ball of frizz in Ohio-Summer-97-degrees-110%-Humidity.

product review
Like

About the Creator

Jennifer Black Young

Jen is a writer, mom, and officiant from Ohio. She likes to travel and collects things like coffee mugs.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.