Blush logo

My Favorite 2-ingredient Toner For Glowing Skin

Why simplicity is best when it comes to skincare

By Noor Published 2 years ago 3 min read
3
My Favorite 2-ingredient Toner For Glowing Skin
Photo by Content Pixie on Unsplash

I have always been the girl who loves the idea of skincare.

Since I first started earning my pocket money at the age of 11 at a rate of $5 per week, I kept it aside so I can buy myself some skincare. “I mean, isn't this what adults do?”, I thought.

In order to distract me from the chaotic toxic environment at home, I had to find something external to focus on.

What better obsession for a preteen than testing and slathering on products I saw in adverts. I’d save up until seasonal sales hit where I could get a good bargain on some of the best beauty and cosmetic brands. I accumulated a good quantity and show them off to friends.

With a lack of parental guidance, I would self educate on the uses and warnings of each one and lather them on my fresh face. Retail staff would give me confusing stares as I checked out the items at my local Priceline and Target.

Although I was naturally gifted at the time with flawless acne-free skin, little did I know I was using the wrong products for my skin type and damaging my skin. After a few years, my complexion was left with mild rosacea and dark patches around the mouth, chin, and forehead. I tried to cover it up with a cream-based foundation but that make things much worse, resulting in teary sensitive eyes.

I had to fix my skin and that was where natural organic recipes took the main focus in my life. While scrolling through an old Arabic skincare book I found in the library, I read about frankincense resin. Known as one of the top reputable resins used in the Middle East to nourish, tone, and hydrate the skin.

“Frankincense benefits include the ability to strengthen skin and improve its tone, elasticity, and defense mechanisms against bacteria or blemishes,”

- Dr. Rita Linkner, a board-certified dermatologist (Source)

The video of the DIY Frankincense Toner from the author’s Youtube channel (featured above).

DIY Frankincense Toner

My go-to favorite two-ingredient toner for glowing skin is simple.

  1. 2 tablespoons of frankincense resin tears
  2. Half a cup of organic cold-pressed rose water
  3. A clean sterilized spray bottle

Place the frankincense resin in the cup and top it with rose water.

Cover and let it soak overnight. In the morning, drain the mixture and place it in a spray bottle. Spray it on the face day and night twice daily after cleansing. Use as a toner. Store in the fridge and use within 6 days.

Other Ways To Use Frankincense Tears

Organic frankincense tears are a wonderful addition to your homemade skincare routinue. They also have additional uses that have been traditionally encorporated into tonics, smudging and oral care.

Please avoid using frankincense tears if they are not organic. Avoid using them for pregnant and nursing mothers as well as children.

Here are some fun ways to use frankincense tears:

- Make a tonic to use on an empty stomach. The tears were originally used as a digestive aid and congnitive support. You can start by soaking 1/4 teaspoon of organic frankincense tears into filtered water the night before. In the morning strain and drink in small shots.

- Use half a teaspoon on a hot charcoal disk and allow the smoke to release in the home and in the corners of the house. Walk in circular motion and smudge the house. This provides a great spiritual cleansing for the home and for the family. It is traditionally used every friday noon in muslim middle eastern homes.

If you would like to support my journey, then kindly subscribe to my youtube channel where I will be sharing updates as well as step-by-step guides on my passive income journey as well as business strategies and tricks. Subscribe here.

About The Author

Noor is a second-year business student at Tredu. She is also studying for a Diploma in International Smart Industry at Tampere University. She is passionate about marketing and content creation.

skincare
3

About the Creator

Noor

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.